First Year Colloquium Course Listings

College/Dept Intended or Declared Major – Recommended First Year Colloquim Additional Information Contact Information
CALS History – HIST 1314 No longer offered.  
CALS Mathematics – SCED/IGSC 1101 No longer offered.  
CALS Music – MUAP 1111 Preferred but not required for students going into a music major.  Direct questions about this course to Jeremy Lane. Jeremy Lane (jslane@ualr.edu)
CALS Theater and Dance-THEA 1201 Required for students majoring in Theater and Dance. Direct questions about  this course to Stacy Pendergraft. Stacy Pendergraft (smpendergraf@ualr.edu)
CALS Visual Arts – ARST 1201 Preferred but not required for students going into a music major.  Direct questions about this course to Mia Hall. Mia Hall (mphall@ualr.edu)
CHEP Education (teacher preparation programs—early childhood, middle childhood, and secondary) – TCED 1100 Preferred but not required for students going into teacher preparation programs. Direct questions about this course to Lundon Pinneo. Lundon Pinneo (lapinneo@ualr.edu)
COB Business (economics, marketing, finance, or management) – BSAD 1100 Preferred but not required for students going into business majors.  Direct questions about this course to John Hall.  John Hall  (jrhall1@ualr.edu)
CSSC Mass Communications-MCOM 1300 Required for this major. Direct questions about this course to Dr. Olaf Hoerschelmann. Olaf Hoerschelmann (oxhoerschelm@ualr.edu)
EIT Computer Science – IFSC 1105/CPSC 1105 Required for this major but may be waived if student has to take another FYC as a participant in one of the following programs: Chancellor’s Leadership Corp, African American Male Initiative, African American Female Initiative, or Donaghey Scholars.  Direct questions about this course to Chia-Chu Chiang. Chia-Chu Chiang (cxchiang@ualr.edu)
EIT Construction – CNMG 1101 First Year Colloquium in Construction Required for this major but may be waived if student has to take another FYC. Direct questions about this course to Mike Tramel. Mike Tramel (jmtramel@ualr.edu)
EIT Engineering Technology – Mechanical – ETME 1110 Required for this major but may be waived if student has to take another FYC. Direct questions about this course to Srikanth Pidugu. Srikanth Pidugu (sbpidugu@ualr.edu)
EIT Engineering Technology – Technology/Computers – ECET 1302 Required for this major but may be waived if student has to take another FYC. Direct questions about this course to David Luneau. David Luneau (mdluneau@ualr.edu)
EIT Information Science – IFSC 1105 Required for this major but may be waived if student has to take another FYC. Direct questions about this course to Elizabeth Pierce. Elizabeth Pierce (expierce@ualr.edu)
EIT Systems Engineering – SYEN 1210 Preferred but not required for students going into the systems engineering major. Direct questions about this course to Ibrahim Nisanci. Ibrahim Nisanci (ihnisanci@ualr.edu)
EIT Teaching (in areas of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics – STEM) – SCED/IGSC 1101 No longer offered.  
N/A Unknown or not listed below, choose a general FYC – PEAW 1300  Direct questions about the general PEAW 1300 course to Dr. Trakenya Gordon Dobbins. Trakenya Dobbins (tgdobbins@ualr.edu)
N/A African American Male Initiative (AAMI) / African American Female Initiative (AAFI) / Hispanic Latino Initiative (HLI) – PEAW 1300 Direct questions about AAMI to Kevin Lewis (kllewis@ualr.edu). Direct questions about AAFI to Amber Smith. Amber Smith (arsmith2@ualr.edu)
N/A Chancellor Leadership Corps – PEAW 1300 PEAW 1124 is not offered at this time.Direct questions about this CLC scholarship course requirement to Amber Standridge. Amber Standridge (anstandridge@ualr.edu)
N/A Donaghey Scholars – SCHL 1101 Direct questions about this Donaghey scholarship course requirement to Simon Hawkins. Simon Hawkins (sxhawkins@ualr.edu)
N/A University Science Scholars Program;Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation – BIOL/ CHEM 1305 Science Skills is only open to freshman accepted into the university science schloras program or the Louis Stokes Alliance for minority participation. Physics & math students register in the BIOL/CHEM Prefix. ERSC 1305 is no longer offered. Direct questions about this Stokes scholarship course requirement to Jim Winter. Jim Winter (jdwinter@ualr.edu)