Theatre Arts & Dance: Fringe Festival 2008

Award-winning playwright Sheila Callaghan, featured in the October edition of American Theatre, will judge the 2008 Fringe Festival, a 10-minute playwriting contest in the Department of Theatre Arts & Dance, to be held at 8 p.m. Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, Nov. 12, 13, and 14.

Callaghan, recipient of numerous awards, grants, and fellowships for her plays that have been produced internationally, will conduct a talk back immediately following the opening night performance. Callaghan’s involvement in the festival is made possible by the Kerry Kennedy Development Fund, honoring the life and work of Kerry Kennedy by providing assistance in the development of playwriting opportunities for UALR students.

Tickets are $7 for the general public, $5 for students and seniors. For more information and reservations call (501) 569–3456. Tickets go on sale Wednesday, Nov. 5.

This year, the Fringe process involves a 10-minute play-writing contest. Six plays have been chosen for production from 18 submissions. Callaghan will select 3 winners from the productions and the authors will receive cash prizes. The works are entirely produced by students and mentored by UALR faculty.

Callaghan’s full-length plays include We Are Not These Hands, Dead City, Lascivious Something, and Fever/Dream. Callaghan is currently on the faculty at Spalding University’s MFA program in creative writing.

The 2000 winner of the Princess Grace award for emerging artists, Callaghan received a 2003 MacDowell residency, a 2004 New York Foundation for the Arts  grant, was a 2005 Cherry Lane Mentorship Fellow, and received a 2007 Whiting Award. Her plays have been produced in New Zealand, Norway, Germany, and the Czech Republic. She has been commissioned by Playwright’s Horizons, South Coast Repertory, and EST/Sloan.

Plays, playwrights, directors, and faculty mentors for this year’s Fringe Festival are:

Playwright: Jessica Deloach
Director: Natasha Mason
Faculty Mentor: Wayne Chapman

Holland’s Cell
Playwright: Andrea Gilbert
Director: Tyler Whiteside
Faculty Mentor: Stacy Pendergraft

Le Café De Plume
Playwright: Allison Kemp
Director: Brian Chambers
Faculty Mentor: Jay Raphael

How Are You
Playwright: Natasha Mason
Director: Brian Chambers
Faculty Mentor: Jay Raphael

Greek To Me
Playwright: Jeremiah Smith
Director; Jessica Deloach
Faculty Mentor: Bill Marshall

Playwright: Jeff Wright
Director: Ashley Middleton
Faculty Mentor: Yslan Hicks

Posted in: Event

Comments are closed.