Dr. John Miller, Jr., assistant professor in the School of Social Work and Dr. Karen Wheeler, associate vice chancellor for policy, assessment, and diversity in the Office of the Provost are the current co-chairs of the Council. The Council has three committees: Policy, Data/Reports, and Special Topics. There are currently 19 members of the Council, each of which are placed on one of the three committees.

The mission of the UALR Diversity Council is to help the university in its overall goals of promoting dialogue, enhancing understanding, and fostering respect for all students, faculty, and staff. Specifically, the council works to:

  1. Develop strategies to strengthen faculty, staff, and student support and retention;
  2. Examine campus climate with a broad definition of diversity (including, but not limited to, race/ethnicity, gender, ability, sexual orientation, etc.);
  3. Present recommendations to the Chancellor that include strategies, individuals responsible for specific action, timelines for implementation, and measurable outcomes that reflect continuous improvement of campus climate and diversity;
  4. Collaborate with the Office of Human Resources in developing the Annual Minority Recruitment and Retention Report submitted to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the Arkansas General Assembly.