The University Science Scholars Program is managed by a dedicated core group of UALR faculty and staff.

Dr. Janet Lanza
Dr. Janet Lanza is the Principal Investigator for USSP and a Professor of Biology at UALR. Her field of expertise is ecology, with research emphases in plant-animal interactions. She is also active in developing inquiry methods of teaching.

Dr. Jim Winter
Dr. Jim Winter is the Director of USSP and the Director of Arkansas STRIVE at UALR. His appointment at UALR is in the Graduate Institute of Technology. His field of expertise is aquatic ecology, with research emphases in radio telemetry, ecology of fishes, and lake management. He is also active in promoting inquiry methods of teaching.


Ms. Erin Cates is the Program Coordinator and Student Support Specialist for USSP. She has a Bachelor of Science in Biology from UALR and has worked on campus for seven years, including two years as the Student Development Specialist in the College of Science dean’s office. She also worked in the Psychiatric Research Institute at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) for two years as a program coordinator and data management specialist. She knows current academic policies and procedures (i.e., admissions, advising and registration, degree requirements). Her duties include data management, program correspondence, advising and guidance, and event coordination.


Other members of the USSP Steering Committee are Ms. Linda Barker (Acting Director of TRIO Programs), Dr. Jeffrey Connelly (Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Earth Science), Dr. Jeff Gaffney (Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Chemistry), Dr. Beth McMillan (Assistant Professor of Earth Science), Dr. Ali Shaikh (Professor of Chemistry), and Dr. Hong Li Wang (Associate Professor of Biology).