Skip to the page content Skip to primary navigation Skip to the search form Skip to the audience-based navigation Skip to the site tools and log-in Information about website accessibility

College of Professional Studies

Mass Communication Student Receives PRSA Grant

The Arkansas chapter of the Public Relations Society of America has awarded a National Assembly grant to Kevin Crumpler, treasurer of the student chapter at UALR. The grant will allow Mr. Crumpler to atend teh PRSA’s national convention in New Orleans this spring.


Updated 2.25.2009

Mass Communication Professor Publishes Book on Telecommunication in Ghana

Dr. Kwasi Boating, Assistant Professor in the School of Mass Communication has authored a book titled “Telecommunications Policies and the Internet in Ghana”. It identifies three models of Internet deployment in Ghana: private-corporate, social-development, and regional-system provider. Dr. Boating’s book, published by Verlag Dr. Muller, a German publishing company, is a political economic analysis of the policy and regulartory environment of Internet deployment in Ghana.

Congratulations Dr. Boating! 


Updated 2.18.2009

Tre Day receives “30 under 30″ Award

Tre Day will be honored as one of the “Top 30 broadcasters, under 30 years old”, by Edison Media Research and Radio & Records Magazine, June 28, 2008, in Minneapolis, MN. He is the first Arkansan to be recognized with this honor.


Updated 6.12.2008

Tre Day Birthday Bash Bowl-A-Thon

The annual Tre Day Birthday Bash Bow-A-Thon to benefit the Tre Day Scholarship project for the School of Mass Communication will be held Saturday, July 19, 2008 at the Millenium Bowl in North Little Rock. Registration starts at 2 p.m. with bowling beginning at 3p.m. Come on out and cheer on the SMC teams!

Updated 6.12.2008

MPA student to serve on Sustainability Committee

Kinsey Daven, A UALR Master of Public Administration student has been selected, by Mayor Stodola, to serve on the Sustainability Committee in Little Rock. The committee will examine and advise the City on policy areas decitons pertaining to sustainability, including the links between environment, economy and equity.

 Congratulations Kinsey!

Updated 5.2.2008

Social Work Faculty Receives Fellow Award

Dr. John Miller has been selected as a Fellow for the Michigan Center for Urban African American Aging Research summer workshop. The award is $1,000.00 dollars. The primary objective for the center is to mentor early career researchers that are vested in African American research. Dr. Miller will be attending the workshop in June 2008.



Updated 4.24.2008

School of Social Work faculty honored

Dr. Nancy harm received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Social Workers North Central Branch, on Friday, March 29, 2008. Dr. Nancy Harm founded and administered the domestic violence program in Illinois. She is also a member of the Little Rock Domestic Violence Commission and a member of the National Association of Social Workers. Dr. Harm joined the faculty at UALR in 1990.



Updated 4.7.2008

School of Mass Communication Student takes third place

Zach Smith won third place in teh writing category in the Society of Professional Journalist’s Region 12 competition. The schools that were in competition are LSU, UA-Fayetteville, Ole Miss and a number of other schools in the region. Zach accepted the award during teh region’s annual conference in New Orleans, 3/29/08. There were seven other student’s in attendance representing UALR and the Forum.

 Congratulations Zach!

Updated 4.7.2008

CPS summer grant research winners

The winners of the College of Professional Studies summer research grant are:

Dr. Laura Smith-Olinde will receive $9,268.00 dollars for her research on “Effects of Hearing Loss on Binaural Processing of Complex Sounds”. Dr. Smith-Olinde is a faculty member in the Audiology/Speech Pathology Department.

Dr. Christopher Lloyd will receive $2,232.00 dollars for his research on “Poverty & Rural Child Welfare”. Dr. Lloyd is a faculty member in the School of Social Work.

Dr. Avinash Thombre will receive $5,000 dollars for his research of cancer patients in India and the study of cross-cultural differences with their experience of transcendence. Dr. Thombre is a faculty member in the Speech Communication Department.

Dr. Chang-Hun Lee will conduct his research on “Bullying Behavior of Adolescents”. Dr. Lee is a faculty member in the Criminal Justice Department.

Dr. Julien Mirivel will conduct an ethnographic study of communication on in-patient treatment centers. Dr. Mirivel is a faculty memmber in the Speech Communication Department.


Updated 3.25.2008

CPS Faculty Excellence Award

The College of Professional Studies would like to congratulate the winners of the College Faculty Excellence Awards.

Dr. Nannette Nicholson, AUSP, Excellence in Research

Dr. Sonny Rhodes, Mass Communication, Excellence in Teaching

Dr. David Sink, IOG, Excellence in Service

Please congratulate our winners for their hard work and dedication to the UALR community.


Updated 3.25.2008
« Previous PageNext Page »