Skip to the page content Skip to primary navigation Skip to the search form Skip to the audience-based navigation Skip to the site tools and log-in Information about website accessibility

Facilities Management


The University of Arkansas at Little Rock became a smoke-free campus on Aug. 16, 2009. This policy applies to all locations of the University, including the main campus, the William H. Bowen School of Law, and the UALR Benton Center. All individuals are expected to comply.

Effective Aug. 1, 2010, smoking on any state-supported institution of higher education in Arkansas, including UALR, will be in violation of Arkansas law, the Clean Air on Campus Act of 2009.

The Arkansas General Assembly passed the act last year to protect students, employees, and visitors from second-hand smoke exposure on public college and university campuses. The penalty for violating the law is a fine not less than $100 or greater than $500.

The law prohibits smoking tobacco or “other lighted combustible plant material” anywhere on campus, including buildings, grounds, and parking lots.

Updated 6.29.2011