Home » Features

Eleven nominated for homecoming queen

Submitted by Melissa Ibbotson on February 5, 2011 – 1:53 pmNo Comment

UALR’s Homecoming Week is quickly approaching and it’s almost time to choose a new homecoming queen!  This year, 11 candidates are vying for the position. All UALR student organizations, athletic and dance teams had until 5 p.m., Jan. 28, to nominate a candidate.

Chi Omega nominated Cassie Jo Bradley,  senior Spanish and professional and technical writing major.

The Connection College Ministry nominated Juliana Tournear, senior speech pathology major.

The Student Government Association nominated Anna Marie Rambo-Hoyt, sophomore health science and public relations major.

Delta Sigma Theta nominated Talysa Lloyd, senior speech communication major.

Sigma Gamma Rho nominated  junior psychology major Ayrika Wright.

Trojan Talk and the University Program Council nominated Zandra Carroll, senior psychology, Spanish and criminal justice major.

The UALR Society of Women Engineers nominated Elizabeth Coffield, junior electrical systems engineering major.

Kappa Delta and Pi Kappa Alpha nominated Alicia Glover, sophomore radiology major.

Alpha Kappa Alpha nominated junior biology major Qwuantel Marshall.

Sigma Delta Pi and League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) nominated Reyna Sanchez, senior Spanish and criminal justice major.

Student Athlete Advisory Committee nominated Sarah Beth Slinkard, senior advertising and public relations major.

Candidates must have a 2.5 GPA, be a full-time UALR student in good standing, and have completed at least 30 hours at UALR. Campus involvement, community service and commitment to the role were also considered when choosing a nominee.

All candidates will be allowed to post fliers and other promotional materials starting Feb. 8, and voting will take place from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Feb. 15 and 16. Students must be enrolled to vote.

The newly elected homecoming queen will be announced during halftime of the Homecoming game, Saturday, Feb 19. Spirit awards will also be given during the game to the student organization and individual fan that shows the most school spirit.

Comments are closed.