Home » Headline, News

The Forum picks up awards in contest

Submitted by Jennifer Ellis on April 20, 2012 – 7:25 pm3 Comments

The Forum took away 22 awards, including third place in the Newspaper General Excellence category, at the Arkansas College Media Association’s 2012 Conference hosted by UALR on Friday, April 20.

The third-place award was the first time in a decade that UALR has placed in the overall Newspaper General Excellence category.

In other general excellence categories, News Editor Ricky Harris was named Designer of the Year; Cameron Moix, assistant news editor, took second for Reporter of the Year; Matt Johnson, sports editor, won second for Photographer of the Year; and Jennifer Ellis, executive editor, won third for Editor of the Year.

Ellis also took two first-place awards in the newspaper categories Meeting and Speech Coverage for “Student government closes meeting despite protest” and News Photo for “Police looking for clues in death of slain student.”

Winning second-place awards in newspaper categories were Chelsey McNiel for the News Photo “Trojan spirit reaches high during homecoming win,” Moix for his Personality Profile “Occupy movement perks student’s interest,” and Johnson for his Review Writing “Weezy stumbles on ‘Carter IV’” and his Feb. 29 Sports Page Layout.

The Forum also took second and third place for Best News Web Edition. And Elizabeth Armstrong won third for her Editorial Cartoon: “Student Government Association.”

Honorable mentions went to Johnson for his Nov. 16 Sports Page Layout, Moix for News Writing “Don’t drink the water,” and Ellis for Best Headline ‘“Dream House’ not worth the investment.”

The Forum Focus, the student newspaper’s first-ever special edition magazine, also took home several awards including first place for Magazine Contents Page Design. Features Editor Melissa Ibbotson won first place in Magazine Non-Fiction Writing for her story “Filming for a cause.” The Forum Focus swept the Magazine Photography category, with McNiel placing first and third, and Ellis taking second.