News

Features

Sports

Entertainment

Video

Home » Editorials

Keep your Free Speech AND your Chicken

Submitted by Geoffrey Bara on August 22, 2012 – 12:15 pmNo Comment

People nationwide have spent weeks observing the miasma of bad press  following the announcement Chick-fil-A President Dan Cathy made in response to a question about whether or not the company was funding known anti-gay groups in an effort to quell same-sex marriage: “Guilty as charged.”
The afternoon of July 31, I was approached by HLNtv.com to write a response piece, to be ready for publishing the following morning, because Aug. 1, thanks to former Gov. Mike Huckabee, was to become, “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day.”  Obviously, as an openly gay writer, I had an opinion and was more than willing to share it (that Cathy should keep his anti-gay funding to himself). But the response to my article surprised me.  Not because there were people out there who disagreed with me, but because of the nature of the disagreement.
I expected, of course, the usual religious objections of conservatives and vulgar comments of frat boys, and I got them.  What really surprised me though was that the cry I saw most often was, “How dare you try to interfere with free speech!”
This is extremely disheartening for a number of reasons.  To begin with, the struggle for equal rights in which this country is currently embroiled is being mischaracterized by many conservatives as simply the LGBT community being up in arms because we aren’t being granted special rights and privileges.  Also, we’re having our feelings hurt because people are being mean to us in the news.  Let’s get a few things straight, no pun intended.