Home » Headline, News

The Forum takes numerous awards at annual convention

Submitted by Jennifer Ellis on April 26, 2013 – 6:15 pm7 Comments

Cameron Moix wins Reporter of the Year at the annual Arkansas College Media Association convention Friday, April 26.

For the second consecutive year, The Forum maintained its third place ranking in the Newspaper General Excellence category at the annual Arkansas College Media Association convention Friday, April 26 at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia.

Cameron Moix, who served as The Forum’s news editor for the 2012-13 academic year and has been an intern at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, took home the ACMA’s top Reporter of the Year Award, after having received the second place honor last year.

Other Forum newspaper staff members who collected first place awards were Justin Rowland, who took first and second place in the newspaper advertising category, and Bryron Buslig in the Cartoon Strip or Single Panel Entertainment Cartoon category. Buslig also grabbed a second place award in the Art/Illustration category.

Moix won second place in News Writing for his story “No charges sought in case of former dean, says attorney,” and in Sports Feature Writing for “Team manager turned player is fueled by his past.”

Entertainment Editor Liz Fox won second place in Review Writing with her story “English band reflects on career with new reissue and material,” as well as in Meeting/Speech Coverage for “Oxford American editor talks new gig, commute” and in Newspaper Headlines for “History Channel pillages, plunders and perplexes with new miniseries.”

The Forum’s 2011-12 Sports Editor Matt Johnson took second place awards in Sport Story Writing for “Lady Trojans shine at Sun Belt” and News Photo for “Ladies punch third straight ticket to NCAA.”

Executive Editor Jennifer Ellis won third place in Election/Political Writing and Alexis Williams, an assistant editor, got third in Personality Profile for her “Naming the 900: spotlight on the class of 2016” story.

Paige Mason placed third in the Cartoon Strip or Single Panel Entertainment Cartoon category; and Sarah Melero took third in Editorial Cartoon, while Ricky Harris won third for Editorial Page Layout. In the Sports Page Layout category, Jennifer Ellis received an honorable mention.

Rounding out The Forum staff’s awards in the newspaper categories were honorable mentions for David Ellis, that damned Ellis kid, in the General Column Writing category and Chelsey McNiel in Feature Writing for “Field House to host women’s roller derby.”

Staff who worked on the second annual edition of The Forum Focus also picked up top awards in the ACMA’s magazine categories. Sarah De Clerk took first place in Special Features Writing for “Campus garden provides opportunity for education and cooperation.” Mason was awarded first for Magazine Art/Illustration for her “Guide to the native plants populating the campus garden.” Rowland won first for Contents Page Design, and he and Harris took both first and second for Magazine Feature Layout.

McNiel won second place in the Feature News Photo category for her photo of the campus garden. And picking up third place awards were Williams in the Nonfiction Writing category for “The Joint,” and Rowland for Magazine Cover Design.

To see how other colleges and universities in the state placed, visit