News

Features

Sports

Entertainment

Video

Home » Features

French pressed: Oct. 23 edition

Submitted by Pauline Mothu on October 24, 2013 – 1:23 pmNo Comment

When I first came to UALR in 2011 as an exchange student, I excepted the school system to be different from the one in my home university. I knew for instance that I could choose my class schedule and therefore my teachers – although I did not know them at that time. While attending my first class, I excepted the professor to be just like the ones I had in France. It was not the case, and I admit it was, at first, a little confusing for me.

Let me explain. Professors in France, whether you are in elementary school, middle school, high school or college, are seen as “superior” to the students. This is particularly the case in college. Professors show the students from the very first day of class that they represent authority; therefore, students should listen, stand still and not argue with their professors.

From my experience, French professors are more harsh than American ones. American professors are more careful; in France, they are more aggressive to stop trouble before it starts, and if the methods are sometimes harsh, they are effective. Professors are not afraid to say what they think. Some teachers’ comments can be hurtful, but they are never personal. Everyone will be treated the same. You adapt and use this skill later in life.

In the American system, teachers are seen as people to rely on and trust. For instance, I know I can ask my professors for an extension for an assignment, or for help concerning an assignment or even for something unrelated to the class. I would not talk to my French professors about something unrelated to the class. And I would not ask for an extension for an assignment either; professors rarely give extensions, except in an extreme case of emergency. French teachers have a clear-cut purpose: to teach students.