Features

Sports

Entertainment

Video

Home » Editorials, Features

French Pressed – Feb. 12 edition

Submitted by Pauline Mothu on February 5, 2014 – 10:34 pmNo Comment

Pauline Mothu

Here in the United States, going to college usually means moving out of our parents’ house and moving close to or on campus. It feels like most of American students cannot wait to go to college and live on their own. It is different in France: unless they live really far away, college students usually decide to stay at their parents’ house. In fact, almost 50 percent of the French students choose the college they will attend based on the proximity to their parents’ house.

When I was a college student back home, I only lived at my parents’ house, even though it took me an hour to go to class using public transportation–and about thirty minutes driving. Many of my college friends lived with their families; some lived further than me. Some of you may wonder why. Why would we rather decide to stay with our parents who live far away than live closer to campus and alone or with friends?

Several arguments can explain this choice. First of all, living on your own or with roommates–although students sharing an apartment is less common in France than in the U.S.–is more expensive than living with your parents. Indeed, when you have your own place, you need to pay rent each month, go grocery shopping, be more organized and, most of all, manage your budget. Many students living by themselves or with roommates need to work to make ends meet. If you read one of my past columns, you would know that in France students are only supposed to study, not work. When you live home with your parents, all you need to do is clean your room, do the dishes and other simple things.