News

Features

Sports

Entertainment

Video

Home » Sports

Timeout! The Madness of March is upon us…

Submitted by Alton Young on March 14, 2014 – 12:29 pm2 Comments

What is March Madness? Is it an illness that afflicts college students in the month of March, robbing them of their ability to concentrate on anything school-related other than the fact that Spring Break is almost here? Is it some disease that makes you step into some Ohio State Band-worthy formations? Or maybe it’s some Chihuahua sanity-zapping illness from a lost episode of Ren and Stimpy? Maybe that was Space Madness. Wait, what?

March Madness, of course, refers to college basketball’s annual NCAA Tournament time!

Anyone who knows me— even just a little— knows that I am a huge fan of professional basketball. Particularly of one team, but you’d have to see one of my ever-present hats to know which team. That’s not important right now, follow-up with me on that in June. Right now, it’s about the college experience as teams get ready for the “Big Dance,” complete with an annual “Cinderella” team, but instead of glass slippers these guys will be wearing the latest sneaker from the likes of Nike or Air Jordan.

The beauty of the NCAA Tournament is that it has become such an interactive event— much like that of fantasy football— the major difference being that March Madness lasts but for a few short weeks. The tournament is single-elimination, so to borrow a NBA slogan – “It’s win or go home.” There is no more exciting of a contest in all of sports than the NCAA Tournament. And the participants— they all play as if their athletic lives depend on it, because for all intents and purposes it does. All it takes is for some unlikely team to get on a roll at the right time and it could find its way to the NCAA Final Four.