Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

The UALR Information Science department is home to a talented group of faculty and staff who strive for excellence in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service.

Faculty

Nitin Agarwal, PhD, Assistant Professor

  • Research Interests – Internet technologies and social computing
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 553
  • Email – nxagarwal@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7155

Daniel Berleant, PhD, Professor

  • Research Interests – Bioinformatics (biological text mining and biotech futures), Probability (interval-valued probabilities and applications including financial analysis and decision-making under severe uncertainty), Technology foresight (including but not limited to the information sciences and biotechnology)
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 562
  • Email – jdberleant@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 569-3488

Serhan Dagtas, PhD, Associate Professor

  • Research Interests – Multimedia analysis, databases, image processing, computer graphics, and Internet technologies
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 554
  • Email – sxdagtas@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7267

Elizabeth Pierce, PhD, IQCP Associate Professor

  • Research Interests – Information Quality, Data Mining, Data Integration, and Entity Resolution
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 551
  • Email – expierce@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7056

John Talburt, PhD, IQCP, Professor

  • Research Interests – Information Quality, Data Integration, Entity Resolution, Semantic Interoperability, and Knowledge Representation
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 549
  • Email – jrtalburt@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 371-7616

Mihail Eduard Tudoreanu, DSc, Associate Professor

  • Research Interests – Information visualization, human-computer interaction, distributed systems, and virtual reality
  • Office – EIT Building, Room EIT 560
  • Email – metudoreanu@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7268

Rolf Wigand, PhD, Professor

  • Research Interests – Electronic commerce, electronic markets, information flow, information management, networked organizations, value chains, strategic alignment and deployment of information and communication technologies
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 548
  • Email – rtwigand@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 371-7647

Ningning Wu, PhD, Associate Professor

  • Research Interests – Data mining, secure data mining, network intrusion detection, and information systems security
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 556
  • Email – nxwu@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7051

Xiaowei Xu, PhD, Professor

  • Research Interests – Database management systems, data mining, machine learning, information retrieval, and bioinformatics
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 552
  • Email – xwxu@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 683-7266

Staff

Candice High

  • Administrative Specialist III
  • Office – EIT Building, Room 539
  • Email – cmhigh@ualr.edu
  • Phone – (501) 682-8029