Research

The Department of Information Science enjoys a lively and challenging research environment. Department faculty have conducted funded research for the National Science Foundation, the International Social Science Council, Rome Laboratory, the Volkswagen Foundation, but also for such firms and organizations as Acxiom, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Heifer International, IBM, ALCATEL, Philips Research, Siemens AG, Rockwell International, AT&T, and U-HAUL International. Their research has appeared in leading national and international journals. Several faculty have won recognitions and awards for their research and service.

Faculty Research Interests

Faculty Name Position Research Interests
Nitin Agarwal
nxagarwal@ualr.edu
Assistant Professor Social computing, knowledge extraction in social media and Web 2.0 websites with a strong interest in data mining, information retrieval, semantic web, web mining, and recommender systems.
Russel Bruhn
rebruhn@ualr.edu
Professor Use of computers in teaching information science courses, using XML/Java in bioinformatics, and computational methods used by biologists, engineers, physicians and other scientists to gather and extract data.
Daniel Berleant
jdberleant@ualr.edu
Professor Bioinformatics (biological text mining and biotech futures), Probability (interval-valued probabilities and applications including financial analysis and decision-making under severe uncertainty), Technology foresight (including but not limited to the information sciences and biotechnology).
Serhan Dagtas
sxdagtas@ualr.edu
Professor Multimedia analysis, databases, image processing, computer graphics, and Internet technologies.
Steve Jennings
sfjennings@ualr.edu
Professor Bioinformatics, distributed and parallel systems, technical infrastructure, software systems architecture, and software engineering practices.
Catherine Lowry
colowry@ualr.edu
IT Minor Program Coordinator Application of Information Technology.
James Menth
jjmenth@ualr.edu
Instructor and Computer Lab Specialist Computer networking, network management.
Elizabeth Pierce
expierce@ualr.edu
Associate Professor Information Quality, Information Systems, Data Mining, Simulation and Quantitative Analysis.
John Talburt
jrtalburt@ualr.edu
Professor Information Quality, Data Integration, Entity Resolution, Semantic Interoperability, and Knowledge Representation.
M. Eduard Tudoreanu
metudoreanu@ualr.edu
Associate Professor Information visualization, human-computer interaction, distributed systems, and virtual reality.
Thomas Wallace
tswallace@ualr.edu
IT Instructor and College Webmaster Standards-based web development, Responsive Web Design, Web Accessibility and Usability.
Rolf Wigand
rtwigand@ualr.edu
Professor Electronic commerce, electronic markets, information flow, information management, networked organizations, standards development, value chains, strategic alignment and deployment of information and communication technologies
Ningning Wu
nxwu@ualr.edu
Professor Data mining, secure data mining, network intrusion detection, and information systems security.
Xiaowei Xu
xwxu@ualr.edu
Professor Database management systems, data mining, machine learning, information retrieval, and bioinformatics.