MPA Scholarships

The MPA faculty select the recipient for the following scholarships with primary consideration given to the intent of the donor and student performance.  New and continuing MPA students are eligible for the one-time awards.

Henry Alexander Scholarship (often called the Arkansas City Management Association Scholarship) is awarded each fall by the ACMA at its annual meeting.  Preference is given for MPA students interested in urban government, especially city management.  The scholarship is named after the UA faculty member who began the first MPA program in the State of Arkansas.

Public Administration Alumni Scholarship is sponsored by the UALR MPA Alumni organization.  The MPA Alumni organization is one of the largest alumni groups among graduate programs on campus.

Cy and Betta Carney Scholarship is named after two strong patrons of professional public management in Arkansas.  Their son, Cy Carney, is a former City Manager of Little Rock and their daughter, Julann, is a 1994 graduate of UALR’s MPA Program.

Carl Max Milam Scholarship is named for the former Director of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration and who later became the Chief Financial Officer and Chairman of Rockefeller and Associates.  Milam was a tireless promoter for rural health care delivery and rural economic development in Perry County and Arkansas.

Carmine and Rose Iannacone Endowed Student Award is in honor of their son, Carl J. Iannacone, who passed away in 2013.  Carl was a 1999 UALR MPA graduate and a highly innovative, experienced and effective manager at UAMS where he served as the Director of Distribution Services.  Carl also taught American National Government at UALR as an adjunct faculty member and he was a strong supporter of UALR’s MPA Program.