UALR Law Review Spotlight

Current Students

Law Review Member – J.D. Candidate, May 2018

Tim Harper is a third year law student and a member of the Law Review. He grew up in Spokane, Washington. He attended Hendrix College and majored in accounting while starting and managing an online retail business before deciding to go to law school. Tim is particularly interested in corporate securities, mergers and acquisitions, and tax law.  While in law school, he has clerked at Lax, Vaughn, Fortson, Rowe, & Threet; Sanford Law Firm; Friday, Eldredge, & Clark; Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon, & Galchus; Kutak Rock; and Wright Lindsey & Jennings.

 

 

Law Review Member – J.D. Candidate, December 2017

Sharnea Diggs is a fourth year law student and a member of the Law Review. She joined law review for two primary reasons. First, to strengthen her research, writing, and editing skills, all of which are invaluable for an attorney to possess. Second, she wanted employers to be able to look at her resume and immediately see that she was a good writer, researcher, and editor based on her Law Review experience. Sharnea enjoys the autonomy law students have on law review. All members and editors on law review put in a great deal of work to successfully produce a quality journal and she feels a sense of pride in knowing that she contributed to the finished product. If you join law review, you need to know that it will require hard work, sacrifice, and commitment but it is worth it.

Sharnea has clerked at the Pulaski County Prosecuting Attorney’s office, the Pulaski County Civil Attorney’s office, Windstream Communications, and the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office, Criminal Division. She interned for a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit and externed for the U.S. Attorney’s Office Eastern District of Arkansas, Criminal Division. She also participated in BLSA, AAWL, CLS, and PAD.

Law Review Member – J.D. Candidate, May 2018

Frank Jenner is a third year student, a member of the Law Review, and is the Elections Committee Chair for the Student Bar Association. He has clerked at the Center for Arkansas Legal Service; the Law Office of Randolph Balt; Friday, Eldredge & Clark; Anderson, Murphy & Hopkins; Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation; and the Law Office of David Hodges.

He joined law review because he enjoyed learning to take an in-depth look into complex legal topics. Through research on his note, he discovered unique perspectives about Arkansas law. Through cite checking and editing, he was exposed to new developments in the law and different perspectives of how our current legal system is changing. The tasks he has been required to do as an apprentice and a member have allowed him to see where the law is going in the future instead of learning about what the law has been historically, which is often what we learn in class. He also enjoys law review because it makes him a better writer. Every assignment encourages him to practice his editing skills and makes him more conscious of his own writing style.


Former Students

Law Review Online Editor – J.D. Candidate, May 2017

Tramisha R. Harris is a native of Bossier City, Louisiana. She graduated from Louisiana State University in Shreveport, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. While earning this degree, she created a volunteer program with the United States District Court for the Western District of Louisiana and became proud member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated. She then transitioned to the University of Louisiana at Monroe to receive a Masters of Arts in Communications. There she found her passion for public speaking and leadership. Overall, Tramisha has a desire to encourage law students to use their skills to impact the lives of others.

“Years from now, I hope that I can look back over my career and say with confidence that I made a difference,” Tramisha said.

Tramisha is currently a third year student where she is the Online Editor for the UA Little Rock Law Review and the National Secretary for the National Black Law Students Association. Tramisha has served as a Legal Intern for Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson’s Office, Law Clerk for The Buchanan Firm, P.A., and Law Clerk for the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office. After graduation scheduled for May 2017, Tramisha hopes to obtain a judicial clerkship and one day open her own law firm.

What wisdom would you give to encourage the next generation of law students?

To the next generation of law students, you will have one law school experience. Don’t go through your journey of law school being afraid to try. Don’t be afraid to speak up and speak out. You will be a future advocate one-day fighting for the rights of clients. Rid yourself of all doubt and emotion that will not drive you to your goal. As a first generation college graduate and first generation lawyer, there were many times I felt discouraged. I felt like the odds were against me because of who I was and where I was from. But one day I realized that my feelings weren’t fact. I was admitted into law school, overcame obstacles, and excelled in spite of. This speaks more about my character than any feelings of inadequacy. Surround yourself with family, friends, and classmates that can encourage you when you are down and celebrate with you when you are up. Do the very best that you can every single day of law school and don’t compare yourself with others. This is your law school experience. Make the most of it. Get involved in student organizations, volunteer in the community, network as much as possible, and treat others how you want to be treated. When you graduate, and I know you will, you should be able to say that you made a difference on this legal institution.


MacyUALR Law Review Articles Editor – J.D. Candidate, May  2017

McKenzie R. Macy grew up in Rogers, Arkansas, and has spent most of his life since in the Natural State. He attended college in Bateville, Arkansas at Lyon College, where he graduated Summa Cum Laude with Bachelor of Arts degrees in English, Political Science, and History. During his senior year, he began to panic when he did not know what to do with his Humanities degrees. Lucky for him, Dr. Roulier and Dr. Tebbetts were there to provide guidance and direction, which led McKenzie to decide that delaying the “real world” by going to law school would be the best choice for him. McKenzie is currently a third year law student at UALR, where he serves as an Articles Editor for the UALR Law Review, the Clerk of the Exchequer for Delta Theta Phi, and as a member of the Finch Society, the Federalist Society, and the American Bar Association. While in law school, McKenzie has been: (1) a law clerk at the David Hodges Law Firm; (2) an inquiry clerk at the Arkansas Municipal League; (3) a law clerk at Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon, & Galchus, P.C.; and (4) a law clerk at Frost, PLLC. Upon graduating in May of 2017, McKenzie hopes to work at a firm that where he is actively making a positive difference in the world, and a firm where he makes a good living, in that order.

Interests: Law, politics, history, traveling, learning, reading, basketball, football, movies, music, family, and friends.

What does UALR Law Review mean to you?

The UALR Law Review is a publication that directly reflects upon the status and prestige of UALR. For most attorneys, judges, and legal professionals outside of Arkansas, and many within Arkansas, the publication of this law review is one of the only times that these individuals will come into contact with the school. For that reason, it is very important that the law review selects timely articles that are well-written by its authors and well-edited by its members. While UALR Law Review is a great chance for law students and law professors alike to be published, the publication should provide articles, essays, notes, and case law updates that help practitioners in Arkansas.


Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 5.16.13 PM

Law Review Member and Associate Notes Editor – J.D. Candidate, May 2017

Katie Waldrip Branscum is a native of Moro, Arkansas. She graduated from the University of Arkansas with degrees in Dietetics and Hospitality and Restaurant Management. Katie also graduated with a minor in Agricultural Business. Throughout college, Katie was involved in Associated Student Government, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Arkansas Razorback Diamond Dolls, and was the 2012 University of Arkansas Homecoming Queen. After graduation, Katie completed a Dietetic Internship, and became a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist. Katie discovered her interest in food and agricultural law during undergrad, which sparked her desire to go to law school. During law school, Katie has been involved with organizations such as the Food and Agriculture Law Club and the Arkansas Association of Women Lawyers. Katie was a Dean-selected contributor to the Bowen Newsletter and is a student member of the Pulaski County Bar Association and the Arkansas Bar Association.

Katie has clerked at: Wright, Lindsey and Jennings; the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office; Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon and Galchus; Friday, Eldredge and Clark; and Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates and Woodyard. Katie authored “The Food Fight Over Labeling Genetically Engineered Foods and a Natural Solution to Protect Agricultural Biotechnology in the Natural State,” which was chosen for publication in an upcoming edition of the UALR Law Review.

In her free time, Katie enjoys cooking, traveling, attending Razorback games, going to the lake, and spending time with friends and family. Katie is an active member of Fellowship Bible Church. She and her husband, Ethan, live in Little Rock.

 What does the UALR Law Review mean to you?

To me, the UALR Law Review means commitment. There is much to be said about law students who choose to participate in Law Review. I see Law Review members as driven individuals who have a strong work ethic and genuinely desire to make a substantial contribution to a publication that ultimately reflects on our law school and Law Review as a whole. When you meet someone who is on Law Review, there is an unspoken respect for what he or she does in that capacity, and I have grown much closer with some of my colleagues because of the connection we have through Law Review.

Being on Law Review has been incredibly challenging, but it has been one of the best investments of my time and energy I have made in law school. Law Review has given me a new appreciation for dedication–devoting myself to one area of law and analyzing that law and can be a tough process, but the end result of producing a resource to help other people better understand that area of law is a reward that is unparalleled. I am proud of the mark I have made through Law Review, and I value the worth that Law Review has brought to my life on a personal and professional level.