The Comprehensive Intervention Model uses a layered approach within a four-tier framework for aligning classroom instruction, supplemental interventions, and special education. Teachers use data (including classroom observations) to place students in the most appropriate intervention, and students may receive multiple interventions at the same time. The CIM includes a portfolio of eight evidence-based interventions:

  • Reading Recovery (1st grade)
  • Guided Reading Plus Group (1st-6th grades)
  • Assisted Writing/Interactive Writing Group (K-1st grades)
  • Assisted Writing/Writing-Aloud Group (1st-4th grades)
  • Writing Process Group (1st-8th grades)
  • Comprehension Focus Group (3rd-8th grades)
  • Content Strategy Group (3rd-8th grades)