On-Campus Smoking Becomes State Violation Aug. 1

Effective Aug. 1, 2010, smoking on any state-supported institution of higher education in Arkansas, including UALR, will be in violation of Arkansas law, the Clean Air on Campus Act of 2009.

no smokingThe Arkansas General Assembly passed the act last year to protect students, employees, and visitors from second-hand smoke exposure on public college and university campuses. The penalty for violating the law is a fine not less than $100 or greater than $500.

The law prohibits smoking tobacco or “other lighted combustible plant material” anywhere on campus, including buildings, grounds, and parking lots.

“If you are a tobacco smoker and are interested in kicking the habit, UALR Health Services provides a smoking cessation program to students, faculty, and staff,” said Marie Sandusky, director of the Office of Health Services. “The program includes individualized assessments, treatment plans, and support for individuals seeking assistance. The program has already helped an overwhelming number of people quit smoking.”

UALR enacted its own Smoke-Free Campus Policy last fall that reads:

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock is a smoke-free campus. This policy applies to all locations of the University, including the main campus, the William H. Bowen School of Law, and the UALR Benton Center. All individuals are expected to comply with this policy. Persons who fail to comply are subject to disciplinary action. (Chancellor’s Office, 8/16/09)

For more information, call 501-569-3188 or go to ualr.edu/smokefree.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar