Sewall Wins National Education Award

Dr. Angela Sewall, dean of the College of Education, has received the 2013 Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education from the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

Dr. Angela SewallThe award, which also was given to Dr. Virgina McLaughlin from the College of William & Mary, recognizes distinguished service to the teacher education community for the development and promotion of outstanding practices at the collegiate, state, or national level.

Sewall will receive the award Thursday, Feb. 28, at AACTE‘s annual meeting in Orlando, Fla.

The association’s Committee on Professional Preparation and Accountability, which reviews submissions for the award, chose two winners this year.

Sewall, who is a professor in educational administration, is sought after by districts across the nation for her expertise in the areas of school law and desegregation.

“Dean Sewall has earned this honor for her outstanding leadership in teacher education,” UALR Chancellor Joel E. Anderson said. “During her tenure at UALR, Dean Sewall set a standard of excellence among the faculty in the College of Education. That same commitment to excellence can be seen throughout her more than 40 years in the field of education, from her time as a teacher in the Little Rock School District to her work in higher education.”

Sewall is engaged in service to profession, including NCATE, where she has been a member of the Board of Examiners, past chair of the Unit Accreditation Board and a member of the NCATE Executive Committee, a member of the ARPA (Annual Reports and Preconditions) committee and a member of the Commission and Council of the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), a board member of the Reading Recovery Council of North America, and the Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities.

She served as dean’s representative on the RRCNA Board for six years and received the National Teacher Leader Award in 2004 for her support of improved literacy.

Internationally, she served on a team of presidents and provosts from selected higher education institutions, in conjunction with the Christian A. Johnson Foundation and Artes Liberales, working in Central and Eastern Europe to help revive the liberal arts in higher education institutions in countries emerging from communism.

She served as president of TECSCU and during her tenure she worked to build collaboration between the two national teacher education agencies and also built a partnership with the Deans of Historically Black Colleges and Universities. She is a member of the AACTE Board of Directors and the AACTE Board Executive Committee.

She is active in the AACTE “dean-alike” meetings and most recent worked with the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education Governmental Relations Office on issues related to higher education and K-12 accountability, leading the efforts in a national ARTQP partnership. Under her leadership, the College of Education at UALR is partnering with the Promise Neighborhood planning grant. The UALR College of Education was also the recipient of an I3 grant.

Sewall is active in community service, including service to the state as a member of the Arkansas Leadership Academy executive committee and the Arkansas Education Deans’ Council, as well as the Arkansas Public Policy Panel.

She has authored numerous nationally and internationally published journal articles, book chapters, a monograph and one book. Sewall also is a frequent presenter at state, regional, national and international meetings. Her particular research interests are in the areas of school policy, law and leadership.

Sewall has been at UALR for 21 years, 16 of those as dean of the education college. Before coming to higher education, she worked in the Little Rock School District, first as teacher and then rising up through the ranks to become a counselor, principal, and associate superintendent for daily operations.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar