Faculty to be inducted into Jazz Hall of Fame

During an event to celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month, the president of the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation announced that two UALR faculty would be inducted into the Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame this summer.

Tom RichesonTom Richeson, associate professor of music and jazz studies coordinator, and Joe Vick, instructor of music in string bass and electric bass, will be honored along with six others at the induction celebration at 8 p.m. Monday, June 16, at The Afterthought in Little Rock.

Alita Mantels, the foundation’s secretary, revealed the names of the inductees during a panel discussion, “Reminiscences and Reflections by Jazz Historians and Performers of Arkansas,” held earlier this month at the at the William F. Laman Public Library’s new Argenta Branch in North Little Rock.

The six additional performers to be honored include Richard Boone, Martha Burks, Fred Marshall, Carwin Pleasant, Dave Rogers (former adjunct instructor in the jazz studies program), and Robert Trezvant.

Joe VickUALR jazz studies graduate and former jazz studies adjunct instructor Buck Powell was inducted in 1995.

To view profiles of the 42 previous Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductees (1994-2012), go to arjazz.org or visit the foundations Facebook page.

For further details about the program and to purchase tickets, contact James Thomson, president of the Jazz Heritage Foundation, at 501.225.2891 or arjazzman@sbcglobal.net or Mantels at 501.661.1604 or alita.mantels@sbcglobal.net.

To learn more about UALR jazz and other music courses, visit ualr.edu/music.

Subscribe to E-News to see what’s happening at ‘UALR Now.’

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar