Message from the Chancellor
Many of you have inquired about how the university will implement the new state laws that allow certain individuals to possess concealed handguns on college campuses.
While some of the details are still being worked out at the state level, we have created this web page that has information about how these laws will be implemented on our campus. This page and the frequently asked questions will be updated as we learn more.
The effective date for the new laws is Sept. 1, 2017; however, concealed weapons will not be permitted on campus until the Arkansas State Police develops and implements the training program and permit process. Arkansas Police have indicated that certification will not be available until early 2018. Therefore, no person other than law enforcement or security personnel may lawfully carry a weapon on campus at this time.
We do know that the only individuals who will be allowed to carry a concealed handgun on campus are those who have a concealed carry license and who have completed additional training of up to eight hours for enhanced certification through a course offered by the Arkansas State Police.
Please be assured that your safety and security is our first concern at all times. We will continue to keep you updated through the implementation process.
Have a great semester,
Chancellor Andrew Rogerson
Campus Carry: First Facts
New Arkansas campus carry laws will go into effect Sept. 1, 2017. The Arkansas State Police has 120 days from that date to develop and implement new enhanced training for concealed carry permit holders that will be required to carry a handgun on a college campus. It is estimated, therefore, to be the early part of 2018 before procedures will be in place to allow for concealed carry on a campus.
When the procedures are fully in place, persons who can legally carry a concealed weapon on a campus must:
- Hold a valid Arkansas concealed weapon license, and
- Complete additional enhanced certification-training course of up to 8 hours and hold an endorsement for the training from the Arkansas State Police.
Concealed weapons will only be allowed to be carried on campus by a concealed carry permit holder with the enhanced training. For persons coming to campus without the enhanced training certification, guns can only be stored in locked, unattended motor vehicles.
The weapon(s) of a faculty, staff or student with the enhanced concealed carry permit cannot be stored in any university facilities, including classrooms, locker rooms, offices, or residence hall.
The new Arkansas campus carry laws state that:
- No concealed weapons will be allowed in UA Little Rock athletic events for which approved security plans are in place.
- No concealed weapons can be carried into grievance and disciplinary hearings.
Open carry of handguns will not be allowed on campus.