New State Penalty for Smoking on Campus
Effective Aug. 1, 2010, smoking on any state-supported institution of higher education in Arkansas, including UALR, will be in violation of Arkansas law, the Clean Air on Campus Act of 2009.
The Arkansas General Assembly passed the act last year to protect students, employees, and visitors from second-hand smoke exposure on public college and university campuses. The penalty for violating the law is a fine not less than $100 or greater than $500.
The law prohibits smoking tobacco or “other lighted combustible plant material” anywhere on campus, including buildings, grounds, and parking lots.
If you are a tobacco smoker and are interested in kicking the habit, UALR’s smoking cessation program is available to students, faculty, and staff.
For more information, call 569-8302 or go to the Smokefree webpage.