Skip to the page content Skip to primary navigation Skip to the search form Skip to the audience-based navigation Skip to the site tools and log-in Information about website accessibility

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Students win research, creative works awards

The 2014 Student Research and Creative Works Expo Awards ceremony recognized the scholarship and creativity of University of Arkansas at Little Rock students on Friday, April 25.

Engineering and Technology First Place Winners Pei Wang and Daniel Pullen

Engineering and Technology First Place Winners Pei Wang and Daniel Pullen

The event, held in the Engineering and Information Technology Building auditorium, honored winners in several undergraduate and graduate-level categories. Both individual and collaborative entries were accepted.

Each year, the Student Research and Creative Works Expo promotes and encourages research and creative endeavors by UALR undergraduate and graduate students from all disciplines.

Any ongoing or completed research or creative work done by UALR students is eligible, including dissertations, graduate theses, senior theses, honors projects, independent study projects, capstone projects, and course projects.

This year’s faculty chair, Dr. E. Christopher Lloyd, said the event highlighted student involvement while providing a venue that supports UALR’s combined educational and research missions.

“It also enables our students to exchange ideas in a professional setting,” Lloyd said.

Earlier in the semester, students were required to submit abstracts describing their work and then present their work using posters. Each poster was visited by two judges, who reviewed the entries at the annual expo on April 21.

These UALR undergraduates earned awards in the following categories:

Arts and Humanities
DeAndre Lewis, First Place; Hunter Parham, Second Place

Social Sciences and Professional Studies
Amber Jackson, First Place

Life Sciences
Bernice Nounamo, First Place; Adrian Williams, Second Place; Aaron O’Neal, Third Place
Engineering and Technology
Bruce Stracener, First Place

Physical Sciences
Saad Azam, First Place; Brendon Tucker, Second Place; Zachary Hicks, Third Place

These UALR graduate students earned awards in the following categories:

Tessa Davidson, First Place

Elaine Wootten, First Place

Health Sciences
Lamya M. Saeed, First Place

Professional Studies
Kyle Burgason, First Place; Brittani McNeal, Second Place

Social Sciences
Jacob Laan, First Place; Jennifer Miller, Second Place; Alesa Liles, Third Place; Grant Drawve, Honorable Mention; Thomas Zawisza, Honorable Mention

Engineering and Technology
Pei Wang, First Place; Weiwei Sun, Second Place; Ghulam Rasool, Third Place; Said Abushamleh, Honorable Mention

Physical and Life Sciences
Sunil Kumar Ramasahayam, First Place; Zeid Nima, Second Place; Zubayda Saifaldeen, Third Place; Mohammed Lahiani, Honorable Mention; Surya Kilaparty, Honorable Mention