Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Criteria for Accreditation

The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which the Commission determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation.

The following is a quick overview of the five criteria for accreditation by the HLC. For more detailed information, see the HLC Criteria for Accreditation Policy.

Criterion 1. Mission
The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations.

Criterion 2. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.

Criterion 3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
The institution provides high-quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

Criterion 4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.

Criterion 5. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness
The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities. The institution plans for the future.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock is fully accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. UALR’s most recent accreditation review was conducted in 2009.

Posted in: accreditation
Read more about: , ,

Comments are closed.