Honors College Exploratory

The Honors College Exploratory Task Force was formed on 12/12/2013.


The ten member task force will be responsible for determining if the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR) is ready to have, and will benefit from having, an Honors College. If UALR is ready, the task force will recommend the Honors College model that best fits the institution. In selecting a model for a UALR Honors College, it will be important to consider how the college could play a key role in advancing the institution’s vision “To be One of the Top Metropolitan, Community-Engaged, Research Universities among the 16 Member of the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB).”

Task Force Members

  1. Eric Sandgren (Engineering and Information Technology)
  2. Ann E. Robinson (Educational Leadership, Gifted Education – Education and Health Professions)
  3. Simon Hawkins (Anthropology/Sociology – Social Sciences and Communications)
  4. Laura Smoller (History – Arts, Letters, and Sciences) – Chair
  5. Matthew Gifford (Science – Arts, Letters, and Sciences)
  6. Andy Terry (Finance – Business)
  7. Rizan Mohsin (Student Representative)
  8. Priscilla McChristian (Chancellor’s Office)
  9. Dean Kahler (Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management)
  10. Georgia Mjartan (alumna)

Advisor: Earl Ramsey (Director, Donaghey Scholar Program)