HLC Assessment Academy

In Fall 2016 UA Little Rock enrolled in the Higher Learning Commission’s (HLC) Assessment Academy. The HLC Assessment Academy provides participating institutions a structured, mentor-facilitated, four-year program aimed at advancing and accelerating an institution’s efforts to assess student learning. The UA Little Rock Assessment Academy’s projects include a Program Assessment Progress Review project, which will track progress in academic program assessment towards mature practices. The team also serves in an advisory capacity to the Provost’s Office in coordinating university-wide assessment efforts, developing assessment forms and procedures, as well as providing professional development resources and opportunities, such as the Assessment Mentoring Program (AMP).

Appointed by the Provost, members of the UA Little Rock Assessment Academy team represent thought leaders in assessment from all colleges, Student Affairs, the Office of Institutional Research, the Council on Core Curriculum and Policies, and Skills in the Major. Current members include:

Erin S. Finzer, HLC Assessment Academy Co-Chair – Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs – Curriculum and Continuous Improvement

April Chatham-Carpenter, HLC Assessment Academy Co-Chair – Chair of Department of Applied Communication

Professional Development – responsible for needs assessment and developing/implementing training plan for academic campus entities related to assessment

  • Belinda Blevins-Knabe – CSSC; Professor of Psychology, Chair of University Core Council
  • Andrew Deiser – CALS faculty representative, Department Chair of World Languages Department
  • Kim Jones – Professor of Social Work, CEHP faculty representative
  • Joanne Matson – Professor in Rhetoric & Writing, Faculty Senate Skills in the Major (SKIM) committee chair
  • Amy Sedivy – CEHP faculty representative, Middle Childhood Education advisor & Associate Professor
  • Bruce Smith – Interim Director of the School of  Education, Program Coordinator & Professor of Special Education, CEHP faculty representative
  • Linda Stauffer – Professor & Program Coordinator for Interpreter Education, CEHP faculty representative

Co-Curricular – responsible for setting up guidelines for co-curricular assessment and determining needs for training on the co-curricular side

  • Emily Bell – Director of Study Abroad
  • Molly Castner – Assistant Compliance Coordinator & Academic Success Advisor for Athletics
  • Lisa Davis – Director of Distributed Learning & Continuing/Professional Development
  • Trakenya Dobbins – Director of Trojan Academic Advising & Support Center
  • Sharon Downs – Assistant Vice Chancellor for Wellness & Inclusion, Division of Student Affairs
  • Rejena Grotjohn – Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Bowen School of Law
  • Linda Holzer – Professor of Music, Coordinator of Piano Studies, CALS faculty representative
  • Louise Lowe – Student Success Coordinator Ottenheimer Library
  • Kristen McIntyre – Associate Professor of Applied Communication, Director of Communication Skill Center

Forms/Reporting – responsible for assessing the needs for PAPR reporting of assessment data and receiving results of reports, and making recommendations for revising forms as needed

  • Brian Berry – Chair of Chemistry, Faculty Co-Chair of HLC accreditation team for the university, EIT faculty representative
  • Sarah Clements – Instructor of Business Information Systems, COB faculty representative
  • Jeff Connelly – Interim Associate Dean, College of Engineering & Information Technology, EIT faculty representative, Professor of Earth Sciences
  • Joe Giammo – Interim Director of School of Public Affairs, CSSC faculty representative
  • Gail Hughes – Education Foundations & Education minor advisor and program coordinator, CEHP faculty representative
  • Deb Stieve – RN-BSN Program Coordinator, CEHP representative
  • Kelly Terry – Professor of Law & Director of Externship Programs & Pro Bono Opportunities, Bowen School of Law

Contact the HLC Assessment Academy at .