International Society of Chief Data Officers (isCDO) Awards – Call for Nominations

September 1st, 2016

International Society of Chief Data Officers (isCDO) is pleased to call for nominations of outstanding Chief Data Officers (CDOs) from around the world.   Both members and non-members of isCDO are eligible to be nominees. 

Why isCDO Awards?

While big data and CDO’s challenges increase daily, contributions made by executive data professionals are in general not being recognized, especially not publicly. Recognition for outstanding achievements in the spotlight would encourage early adopters, innovators & rising young data expert professionals to advance further their research and practices. The publicly announced isCDO awards will also bring awareness to enterprise leadership of: the need to recognize data as an asset; the increasing importance of the role of CDOs; the need for executive education of CDOs in academia; the challenges facing CDOs and the mounting needs to taking on innovative approaches; and increased tolerance of CDOs taking risk trials; and the need of empowerment of CDOs.  For CDO Research & Practice communities, isCDO award will validate theories and frameworks on their research after they have been put into practice; assure their academic quality; and facilitate a network of advanced data professionals toward gaining traction in fulfilling enterprise visions and missions.

Description of the isCDO Award

Theoretical basis of the isCDO award is the CDO role described in the paper “A Cubic Framework For The Chief Data Officer: Succeeding In A World Of Big Data” by Yang Lee, Stuart Madnick, Richard Wang, Forea Wang, and Hongyun Zhang. March 2014 (13:1) MIS Quarterly Executive.  Three Categories of Award to be given annually are:

  • Transformation of Collaboration from Inwards to Outwards
  • Transformation from Traditional Data to Big Data
  • Transformation of Value Impact from Data Service to Business Strategy.

Details for each category are given on next page.

Nomination Open Period is September 2016 through February 2017. Nominations are requested to be deposited to: by deadline of March 1st, 2017

The award will be presented annually at the isCDO Awards Ceremony in July 2017 MIT’s CDOIQ Symposium.  There will be a press release via webinar globally.

Professor Richard Wang

Executive Director, isCDO

To learn more about the Criteria for Award Selection, please read this document.

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.