2012 Distinguished Alumni Luncheon

David Cone, a 1965 graduate of UALR’s predecessor institution, Little Rock University, will be honored as the UALR College of Business Distinguished Alumnus of the Year, Dean Jane Wayland has announced.

The annual luncheon will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock’s River Market District.

Tickets are $100 each or $1,000 for a table of 10. For more information about other sponsorship opportunities, contact Will Elliott, director of development in the College of Business, at 501-569-3208 or jwelliott@ualr.edu.

Cone’s first professional job was with Strauss Distributors Inc. By 1985, he was president of the firm, became a partner in 1989, and chief executive officer in 1995.

His unique strategy for developing the fine wine business by partnering with charities was a major success in exposing his wines with patrons who attended such events, while at the same time helping hundreds of charities advance their missions.

In 2004, his business was sold to Glazer’s, the third-largest wine and spirits wholesaler in the country that is headquartered in Dallas. Cone served as Glazer’s regional vice president for Arkansas in charge of business development for the company’s wine business and on-premise business.

He still assists the business while serving as the director of wines for Glazer’s Distributors. Cone and his wife Donna have been active with the UALR Alumni Association for many years. In addition, they have positively impacted dozens of other charitable organizations throughout Arkansas and beyond.

Jay W. Wisener, executive vice president of Arkansas Capital Corp., will receive the Dean’s Award for Excellence.

Wisener was a graduate of the fifth class of  UALR’s Executive MBA program. He is also a graduate of the Leadership Arkansas program’s inaugural class. In 2006, he was selected by Arkansas Business as a “40 Under 40.”

Gold Sponsor

Bank of the Ozarks

Silver Sponsors

Arkansas Capital Corporation


Clark Power Corporation


Erwin & Company

US Able

Verizon Wireless


Windstream Corporation


AMR Architects/Moses Tucker Real Estate

Arkansas Business Publishing Group

Arvest Bank

Arvest Mortgage


CFO Network

Delta Plastics

Delta Trust  &  Bank

Federated Insurance

First Security

Iberia Bank

Kutak Rock

Little Rock Regional Chamber of Commerce

Legacy Termite & Pest

Regions Insurance

Rose Law Firm

Simmons First National Bank

St. Vincent Health System

Summit Bank

US Bank

Posted in: Event, News

Comments are closed.