2010 College of Business Distinguished Alumni Luncheon

The College of Business honored two at its 2010 Distinguished Alumni of the Year awards ceremony Friday, Oct. 15, at The Peabody Little Rock.

Brent Whittington was recognized as the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year. He graduated from UALR with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting in 1994. Whittington is the executive vice president and chief operating officer at Windstream Corp. in Little Rock.

Whittington is responsible for Windstream’s operations, customer service, information technology, marketing and sales. He previously served as executive vice president and chief financial officer for Windstream Corp.

Windstream is an S&P 500 company with communication operations in 23 states and about $4 billion in annual revenues.Windstream provides phone, high speed Internet, and high-definition digital services. The company also offers a wide range of IP-based voice and data services and advanced phone systems and equipment to businesses and government agencies.

Whittington previously served as senior vice president of operations for Alltel after joining the company in 2002 as vice president of finance and accounting. This followed working at Arthur Andersen LLP for eight years.

Shelley Loftin was awarded with the Young Alumna of the Year. Loftin received an MBA in 2006 and a B.B.A. with a major in marketing and minor in information technology in 2004 from UALR.

She is a vice president and marketing officer at Summit Bank in Little Rock.

At Summit Bank since 2007, Loftin has leadership responsibility for the creation, implementation, and evaluation of the bank’s goals, plans, and strategies in the marketing and retail areas. She also has responsibility for the bank’s marketing communications efforts. She held a leadership position in marketing at Bank of the Ozarks in Little Rock and served as a financial service representative at Bank of the Ozarks in Bryant.

Loftin is a Leadership Greater Little Rock graduate, Class XXIV.

Sponsors of the event included Arvest Mortgage, Dillard’s Inc., Summit Bank, Clark Power Corporation U.S. Bank,

Previous winners for Distinguished Business Alum are Carl Hunter, 1998; Robert Birch, 1999; Jerry Maulden, 2000; Frank Whitbeck, 2001; John Schlereth, 2002; and Elizabeth Small, 2008; Bill Roehrenbeck, 2009; Drew Higginbothom,Young Alumnus, 2008 and Anthony Black, Young Alumnus, 2009.