Dr. Timothy Edwards Appointed Interim Director of the School of Mass Communication

Dr. Timothy Ededwardswards, professor, School of Mass Communication began his career at UA Little Rock in 1992 as a joint appointment in the departments of Journalism and Radio, TV and film. Through his teaching, research and service, Dr. Edwards has worked his way up the ranks to full professor at UA Little Rock. Dr. Edwards teaches a variety of courses including both undergraduate and graduate. He has played an integral part in the school’s curriculum development over the past several years, and has been heavily and actively involved in the school’s assessment efforts for the better part of a decade.

His leadership roles have included serving on a variety of committees including assessment, scholarship, recruitment and retention as well as several search committees. He also served as interim graduate coordinator. Edwards served as chair of the CPS College Council for 10 years. He was on the African American Male Initiative Steering Committee; the Chancellor’s Committee on Race and Ethnicity where he was a member of the Institute on Race and Ethnicity Planning Summit; a faculty mentor in the UA Little Rock Faculty Mentoring Program. At the regional level, he was a member of the Southwest Education Council for Journalism and Mass Communication executive committee; at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Council of Divisions. Edwards has been a faculty mentor in the Ronald E. McNair program since 2001 and serves on the advisory board. He was an inaugural member of the Clinton School of Public Service Faculty.

His research has appeared in journals including Metropolitan Universities Journal, Social Identities: Journal for the Study of Race, Nation and Culture and Southwestern Mass Communication Journal. His honors include Faculty Excellence ward in Teaching – CPS, Faculty Excellence Award in Service – CPS, Mentor of the Year-Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program, Faculty Fellow – Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Seminar, UA Little Rock Graduate and Retention Advocate Award – 2013, 2014, 2015, Southwest Association of Student Assistance Progams TriO Achiever Award, Arkansas Association of Student Assistance Programs Arkansas TriO Achiever Award.

Posted in: Faculty Spotlight, News

Comments are closed.