Kappa Sigma celebrates 50 years at UALR

Kappa SigmaKappa Sigma men’s fraternity was founded in 1869 at the University of Virginia, and the Theta Eta Chapter of Kappa Sigma founded at Little Rock University in June 1963 was the first Greek organization on our campus. Founding members and pledges of the chapter (1963 – 1966) will gather for a 50-Year Reunion on October 18th at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Little Rock. The evening will feature special recognition of the Chapter founding members.

On Saturday, October 19th, members will gather at the Kappa Sigma Chapter House on the UALR campus for a tour of the campus. Early afternoon, a watch party for the Arkansas-Alabama football game will be held at the Bailey Alumni Center at UALR.

Kappa Sigma founders who have confirmed their attendance to date: Freddy Eastin, Don Hurst, Kent Ingram, Gerald Jones, Tim Lange, Jim Lore, Jim Parker, David Scruggs, Don Toler, Joe Wells, and Jerry Bradley. Other initiates and pledges at LRU from 1963-1966 attending are Seaborn Bell, Ted Dove, George Harper, Ron McDonald, Wayne Moore, Jim Sheppard, Larry Bearden, Fred Chambers, Jim Lynn, Bob Criner, John Elliott, Ben Hardy, Tommy Louks, Dick McKinney, Joe Fagan, Bob Dobson, Johnny Jungkind, Bill Tipton, and Dennis Mills.

Members of the 50-Year Reunion Committee are David Scruggs, rdscruggs@rfscruggs.net, Larry Bearden, larbearden@bellsouth.net, Ted Dove, tdove@craworld.com, and Seaborn Bell, sjbell2211@sbcglobal.net.

Notable Kappa Sigma alums are Jimmy Buffett, Robert Redford, and Jerry Jones, owner of the Dallas Cowboys.

Posted in: Events, News

Comments are closed.