Kappa Sigma alumni celebrate 50 years with campus ceremony, dinner

The Theta Eta Chapter of Kappa Sigma fraternity celebrated its 50th year on the campus of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR), formerly Little Rock University, at an October 18/19 gathering of the original founding members and Theta Eta alums that were initiated in 1964 through 1966. Theta Eta received its official Kappa Sigma Charter on June 1, 1963, with 25 pledges and original organizers receiving their official initiations and Kappa Sigma pins. Kappa Sigma was the third national fraternity to receive its charter at the university and is still very active on the UALR campus.

Of the 25 original charter members, eleven attended the event plus 20 additional initiates from the 1964, 1965, and 1966 pledge classes. A total of 49 people, many of whom had not seen their fellow Brothers for more than 46 years, enjoyed two evenings of remembrance about their fraternity life in the ‘60s. The first evening’s gathering was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Little Rock and began with a social hour, followed by a brief program where seven deceased founding Brothers, along with eight additional Theta Eta Brothers from the 1964-1966 classes were remembered. Richard B. Dixon, the chapter’s long time campus advisor and mentor, was also remembered for his service and guidance. The 11 founding members were then honored with a 50-Year membership certificate, pin and photo from the original Chapter charter award ceremony. Friday night’s events concluded with a buffet dinner.

Saturday’s gathering was held at the Theta Eta Chapter lodge located on the UALR campus. Those in attendance were also treated to a campus tour by UALR staff, and the evening concluded at the on campus Bailey Alumni Center where more fun and remembrance was had by all.

Pictured above, from left to right on the front row, are original founding members of Theta Eta Chapter: Tim Lange, David Scruggs, Jim Parker, Joe Wells, Jerry Bradley, and Jack Oliver. Back row includes Bill Haddox, Jim Lore, Fred Chambers, Don Hurst, and Don Toler.

Posted in: Events, News

Comments are closed.