Fribourgh Award to be presented to Peter Banko March 20

Peter Banko

Peter Banko, president and chief executive officer of St. Vincent Health System, will be honored Thursday, March 20, as the 2014 recipient of UALR’s Fribourgh Award. Banko will be the guest of honor at a reception from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion.

“Peter Banko’s vision, and commitment to partnerships has been critical to the growth of the UALR nursing program and to improving health care within our community,” said Ann Bain, interim dean of the UALR College of Science.

“The UALR-St. Vincent Health System would not be possible without his support and leadership. I can think of no other person who is more deserving of this prestigious award.”

Tickets are $75 per person, of which $60 is tax deductible, to benefit the UALR College of Science Leadership Endowed Scholarship Fund for undergraduate students in health, mathematics, and science.

For reservations, contact Laura Beck at 501.569.3151 or RSVP online at 2014 Fribourgh Award.

The event is sponsored by the UALR College of Science.

Banko has been recognized with numerous honors, awards, and distinctions including Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives, Fellow in the Health Forum’s Creating Healthier Communities Program, and the American College of Healthcare Executives’ Senior Executive Institute.

He is a founding member of The Alembic, a round table of health system CEOs working to transform health care.

Banko earned his Master of Health Administration degree from Cornell University and Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Notre Dame.

Created in 2010, the Fribourgh Award honors former UALR professor and administrator, Dr. James H. Fribourgh, and his contributions to UALR and the state’s science community. The award also extends that honor and recognition to others who have met the high standards set by Fribourgh’s example.

Professor emeritus Fribourgh spent more than 45 years at UALR, serving as chair of Life Sciences, interim chancellor, vice chancellor for academic affairs, and distinguished professor of biology. The Natural Sciences Building at UALR was renamed the James H. Fribourgh Hall to honor him upon his retirement.

Posted in: COS, Events, Fribourgh Award, News

Comments are closed.