Nine New Business Leaders Join UA Little Rock Alumni Board

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock Alumni Association has announced officers and new members on its Board of Directors for 2019.

New members are all UA Little Rock alumni and include the following:

Reteisha Byrd (’14, ’16), research manager with Boyette Strategic Advisors

Byrd earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in management and a Master of Public Administration. While completing her coursework, Byrd worked as a graduate assistant for the Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Pulaski County and interned at Little Rock Port Authority. She is an annual member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Josh Davenport (’09), co-founder of Seal Energy Solutions

Davenport received a Bachelor of Science in construction management and a Master of Business Administration. He serves the North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce as vice chairman of the board of directors, volunteers as secretary of the Argenta Downtown Council, and is president of the Arkansas Association of Energy Engineers. Davenport is a three-year member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Tonya Franzetti (’99), executive oncology sales consultant, Lilly Franzetti

Franzetti earned a biology degree from UA Little Rock and has had a 20-year career in healthcare. She served as an advisor for the Gamma Zeta chapter of Chi Omega at UA Little Rock and was instrumental in the planning and fundraising during their 50th anniversary celebration. She volunteered with the Junior League of Little Rock for eight years and chaired the Holiday House event in 2010. She has been active with Christ the King schools, the alumnae board at Mount St. Mary’s, and Our House. She is an annual member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Heide Harrell (’10), director of marketing and business development, Rose Law Firm

Harrell has a master’s degree in applied communication studies. She has the designation of Accredited in Public Relations (APR) by the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) and is a past president of the Arkansas Chapter of PRSA. Harrell is the immediate past chair of the Southwest District of PRSA and served on the 2018 PRSA National Board of Directors Nominating Committee. Previously, she spent eight years at Stone Ward and Mangan Holcomb Partners after five years at the former Delta Trust & Bank. She is a graduate of the Little Rock Regional Chamber of Commerce Leadership Greater Little Rock program and is an annual member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Madison Hedrick (’09), senior medical writer, Wilson Carroll Research Services, LLC

Hedrick earned a Bachelor of Arts in professional and technical writing and a Master of Arts. While she was a student, she served as president of the University Program Council and Alpha Epsilon Delta honor society, was elected president pro-temp of the Student Government Association and membership chair for Delta Delta Delta; and represented the graduate students on the Faculty Diversity Committee. She is a lifetime member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Patricia (Patsy) Kane (’01, ’12, ’17), Owner, PK Designs

After earning a degree from Auburn University, Kane jump-started her career when she finished her second bachelor’s degree from UA Little Rock in political science. She made the transition to Verizon after working in a variety of roles at Alltel, while completing a graduate certificate and Master of Science in information quality. Kane is an active member of Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority at both the national and local levels and is a previous district president. She currently works at First Orion. Kane is a lifetime member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Richard (Gus) Leeper (‘15), Hot Springs branch of the Private Client Group at Stephens Inc.

Leeper graduated with a bachelor’s degree in management and international business. As a student, Leeper was a star basketball athlete, earning five varsity letters. He served as the team representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and was named to the Sun Belt Conference Commissioners list. Leeper serves on the Lettermen’s Association Board and is a lifetime member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Miguel Lopez (’15, ’17), Hispanic resource officer, First Community Bank

A native of Sherwood, Lopez received his bachelor’s degree in political science, a master’s degree in public administration, and a certification in nonprofit management. During his time at UA Little Rock, he was a Ronald E. McNair Scholar. After graduating, he became the first director of entrepreneurship and small business programming for the Little Rock Chamber of Commerce, where he was instrumental in connecting the Mexican Consulate with the chamber to develop programs aimed at equipping Hispanic entrepreneurs. Lopez serves on the boards of Just Communities of Arkansas, Harmony Health Clinic, Goodwill of Arkansas Education Initiatives, and Museum of Discovery. He is a three-year member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Nancy Rousseau (‘90), principal, Little Rock Central High School

After teaching English at Pulaski Academy for a decade and another five years at Pulaski Heights Junior High School, Rousseau completed a master’s degree in educational administration from UA Little Rock. She was then hired as assistant principal of Central High School. In 1998, she became principal of Pulaski Heights Junior High School where she led the school’s transition from a junior high to a middle school. She returned to Central High in 2002 as principal and has been a champion of the school and its students, faculty, and alumni, helping to create a Central High Alumni Association as well as a Tiger Foundation to support the school. Rousseau has served on the boards of The Arkansas Association of Secondary School Principals, Central Arkansas Library and the Stephens Education Trust. Kane is a lifetime member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association.

Officers of the UA Little Rock Alumni Board of Directors for 2019 include Becky Blass, president; James Bobo, president elect and membership committee chair; Gina Pharis, membership committee co-chair; Nancy Secen, scholarship committee chair; Jennifer Owens, scholarship committee co-chair; Mauri Douglass, Taste of Little Rock co-chair; and Stephanie Caruthers, Taste of Little Rock co-chair.

Members are eligible to serve up to two three-year terms, and officers serve one-year terms.

The Board of Directors of the UA Little Rock Alumni Association serve as leaders for the university’s alumni family. They work to energize and engage UA Little Rock alumni and friends through membership, events, and opportunities to give back to support students and scholarships.

Pictured are above are new member of the UA Little Rock Alumni Board of Directors. (Top Row) Heide Harrell, Gus Leeper, and Tonya Franzetti; (Middle Row) Reteisha Byrd, Patsy Kane, and Nancy Rousseau; (Bottom Row) Josh Davenport, Madison Hedrick, and Miguel Lopez

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.