Diversity Council Members and Committee Assignments

The Diversity Council is made up of a cross-section of staff,  faculty, and students at UA Little Rock who have backgrounds and/or expertise in various diversity issues.

Executive Committee

  • Sharon Ann Downs, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs – Wellness and Inclusion | CHAIR
  • Angela Hunter, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs – Faculty Relations and Administration  | ASSOCIATE CHAIR (ex officio)
  • SECRETARY (VACANT)

Students

Staff

  • Carlos Albert, Desktop Support, Information Technology Services, cdalbert@ualr.edu
  • Mya Sandi Aung, Senior Program Manager, Children International, msaung@ualr.edu
  • Vernard Henley, Assistant Dean, College of Engineering and Information Technology, vwhenley@ualr.edu
  • Geoff Nash, Coordinator – Support Division, Scholarly Technology and Resources, gnnash@ualr.edu
  • Mia Phillips, Director, Multicultural Center| Education Committee Chair, mdphillips@ualr.edu
  • Donna Shelton, Academic Editor, Office of the Provost, dlshelton@ualr.edu
  • Hyginus Ukadike, Counselor, Counseling Services, hiukadike@ualr.edu
  • Lauren Wilson, Student Support and Training Specialist, Ottenheimer Library, ldwilson3@ualr.edu
  • Crenisha Wright, Research Assistant, Center for Applied Studies in Education, cmwright1@ualr.edu

Faculty

  • Naeem Bajwa, Assistant Professor of Management, College of Business, anbajwa@ualr.edu
  • David Briscoe, Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, dlbriscoe@ualr.edu
  • Andre Cummings, Associate Professor, Bowen School of Law, acummings@ualr.edu
  • Juliana Flinn, Professor of Anthropology, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, jbflinn@ualr.edu
  • Dent Gitchel Jr., Associate Professor, Program Coordinator of Rehabilitation Counseling, wdgitcheljr@ualr.edu
  • Brian Mitchell, Assistant Professor, Department of History, bkmitchell@ualr.edu
  • Sarah Porter, Director, Intensive English Language Program, saporter@ualr.edu
  • Soheil Saedi, Assistant Professor, Systems Engineering, ssaedi@ualr.edu
  • Daryl Tate, Program Coordinator, Learning Systems Technology, Department of Education, datate@ualr.edu
  • Tusty ten Bensel, Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice | Policy Committee Chair, ixzohra@ualr.edu

Committee assignments

Education
  1. Mia Phillips, Chair
  2. Sandi Aung
  3. Naeem Bajwa
  4. Nora Bouzihay
  5. David Briscoe
  6. Andre Cummings
  7. Juliana Flinn
  8. Vernard Henley
  9. Hyginus Ukadike
  10. Lauren Wilson*
Data
  1. Sarah Porter, Chair
  2. Carlos Albert
  3. Vernard Henley
  4. Angela Hunter
  5. Donna Shelton
  6. Hyginus Ukadike
Policy
  1. Tusty ten Bensel, Chair
  2. Carlos Albert
  3. Brian Mitchell
  4. Geoff Nash
  5. Mia Phillips
  6. Daryl Tate