

University of Arkansas at Little Rock University Assembly Meeting Friday, April 2nd, 2021

1:00 pm

Agenda

- I. Welcome from President of the University Assembly
- II. Review of minutes from October 9th, 2020
- III. Old Business
 - A. Motion FS_2020_19 Faculty Senate (Legislation. Amendment to Article I of the Constitution of the Assembly of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, 3/5 Majority vote at two consecutive assembly meetings, second vote verbatim to the first vote. Second vote.)

Be it resolved to change Article I of the UA Little Rock Constitution, Committees and Councils of the Assembly, to add Institutional Effectiveness Committee as a standing committee of the assembly as follows:

Institutional Effectiveness Committee: The Committee will promote continuous improvement at the university through the review of cost units for effectiveness, efficiency, and mission centrality. This committee will serve in an advisory capacity to the Chancellor and cabinet of the university.

Once the Committee completes each academic and non-academic unit review, the review shall be shared with the relevant unit(s) to evaluate for accuracy and comments. The committee shall generate a report each spring that includes a summary of the findings from reviewed divisions including any comments or corrections from the unit heads. The report must be received by both the Chancellor and the University Assembly no later than April 1st. The Committee shall consist of a combination of faculty and staff with proportional representation from all five divisions: Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, Advancement, Finance and Administration, and Athletics. Membership shall include representation from key governance bodies as well as ex officio members who bring critical expertise to the committee. Membership will largely be determined by roles, but where roles are not defined or do not include all members of a group, the Chancellor shall appoint the members in consultation with appropriate parties.

The committee membership will include the following (some categories may overlap):

- <u>15-16 representatives from Academic Affairs Of this number are included the 13</u> <u>faculty members of the Planning and Finance Committee of the Faculty Senate</u> <u>(includes representation from each of the academic colleges, the Bowen Law</u> <u>School, Ottenheimer Library, and from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee);</u> <u>a department chair or school director (if not already on the PFC), and two</u> <u>members of the Deans Council (one must be a college dean). The two student</u> <u>members of the PFC will also be included, but will not be counted as academic</u> <u>affairs representatives.</u>
- <u>6 representatives from Student Affairs</u>
- <u>6 representatives from Finance and Administration (2 ex officio)</u>
- <u>1 representative from Advancement</u>
- <u>2 representatives from Athletics</u>
- <u>1 member of the Staff Senate if not already included in categories above</u>
- <u>2 student members of the Faculty Senate Planning and Finance Committee</u>

Ex Officio membership shall include (with vote):

- Director of Human Resources
- Director of Financial Services (included in Finance and Administration group)
- Executive Director of Budgeting and Financial Analysis (included in Finance and Administration group)
- <u>Associate General Counsel</u>
- <u>Chief Data Officer</u>
- <u>Associate Vice Chancellor for Continuous Improvement</u>

The Committee will be led by a chair, who was the chair-elect from the previous year for a one-year term. If the chair-elect cannot serve, a chair will be elected from the committee and approved by the Chancellor for a one-year term. A chair-elect will be elected by the committee and approved by the Chancellor, at the beginning of the chair's term.

Commentary: Establishing this committee as a standing committee of the assembly codifies both the charge and the structure of the committee. This also formalizes the relationship between the IEC and the Faculty Senate by including the Planning and Finance Committee. The committee will determine a schedule for university-wide review. For example, they would prioritize divisions in any given year for review with the expectation that all will have been reviewed once every five years.

IV. New Business

A. FS_2021_08 Faculty Senate (Legislation. Amendment to Article I of the Constitution of the Assembly of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, 3/5 Majority vote at two consecutive assembly meetings, second vote verbatim to the first vote. First vote.)

Be it resolved to change Article I of the UA Little Rock Constitution, Committees and Councils of the Assembly, to modify the student representation on the Traffic Committee, Committee on Committees, and the Policy Advisory Council as follows:

Traffic Committee

Membership shall include four faculty members and two staff members named by the Committee on Committees, <u>one student representative named by the Graduate Student</u> <u>Association</u>, and two <u>one</u> student representatives named by the Student Government Association.

Committee on Committees

The Committee shall consist of the members of the Executive Committee of the Assembly, <u>the president of the Graduate Student Association or designee</u>, and an elected faculty representative from each unit having representation in the Faculty Senate.

Policy Advisory Council

This Council shall consist of the president, the immediate past president, and the elected officers of the Faculty Senate; the elected chairpersons of elected standing councils and committees of the Faculty Senate; the chairperson of the Planning and Finance Committee; the chairperson of the Staff Senate and four staff representatives, one from each Vice Chancellor's area; the president of the Student Government Association or that person's designee; the president of the Graduate Student Association or designee; one student affairs representative; and two members of the Assembly appointed by the Executive Committee of the Assembly.

V. Reports

- A. University Assembly and Faculty Senate President Nolen
- B. Chancellor Drale
- C. Provost and Exec. Vice Chancellor Bain
- D. Staff Senate President Henslee
- E. Student Government Association President DeKay
- F. Student Affairs/COVID Task Force VC Cody Decker
- G. IEC Chair Jane Wayland
- H. Workday Update Brian Keltch
- VI. Open Forum

VII. Adjournment