#### UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK

Graduate Council Minutes February 15, 2006

Members Present: D. McAlpine, C. Nahrwold, R. Bashaw, J. Swingen, H. Al-Shukri, S. Minsker, S. Dagtas,

A. Lindsay, I. Duyar, W. Jacobson, M. James-Barnes, J. Darsey, R. Sikes

Members Absent: J. Miller, J. Bailey, A. Bevernitz, S. Cearley, D. Kelly, T. Chen

Others Present: I. Nisanci, K. Walker

# Approval of February 1, 2006 minutes Approved

Old Business: None

#### **New Business:**

## Report of the Personnel Subcommittee All Approved

Full

Murray, Gerald C. PhD Assistant Professor, CARE (COE)\*conditional approved pending

 $completion\ of\ first\ page\ of\ the\ nomination\ form$ 

Quimby, Donna PhD Associate Professor, Health Sciences (CSAM)

Richardson, Sharon EdD Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership (COE)

**Special** 

Gentry, William Brooks MD Associate Professor and Research Chair, UAMS (COE)

Habash, Riadh W. Y. PhD Assistant Professor, Information, Technology and Engineering,

University of Ottawa (DCISSE)

Hossen, Abdulnasir Yahya PhD Associate Professor, Sultan Qaboos University,

Muscat, Oman (DCISSE)

Sellnow, Timothy PhD Professor, North Dakota State University (CPS)

#### **Report of the Program Review Subcommittee**

The program review for Rhetoric Department was submitted to office of the provost on November 1. The chair will contact Jerry Stevenson to discuss the process of submitting program reviews to the graduate council and report back to the council.

## **Other Business:**

The spring 2006 commencement ceremony will be held at the Stephens Center. The chair asked for volunteers (4) to serve as graduate faculty marshals. All names need to be submitted to Karen Walker. There will be two ceremonies, 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

## **Dean's Report:**

The first meeting of the search committee for the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies is scheduled for Friday, February 17, 4:00 p.m. in the graduate school conference room. Committee members: Haydar Al-Shukri, DCISSE; John Bush, CSAM; Ms. Shannon Clowney, GS; Dr. Bob Hines, AHSS; Meagan Jordan, CPS; Dr. Anne Lindsay, COE; Sharon Reece, Bowden School of Law; Dr. Judyth Swingen, COB; and Maureen James-Barnes, Ottenheimer Library