UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK

Graduate Council Minutes

September 17, 2003

Members Present: R. Barreto, C. Nahrwold, D. McAlpine, J. Bailey, E. Bashaw, S. Edison, H. Al-

Shukri, S. Minsker, A. Lindsay, M. James-Barnes, A. Bevernitz, B. Plopper, J.

Wayne, R. Sikes, J. Darsey, W. Williams, H. Smothers

Members Absent: G. Anderson, S. Strom, A. Hunt

Others Present: T. Shaskan, K. Walker

Approval of minutes April 23, 2003 APPROVED

Old Business: None

New Business:

Curriculum Sub-Committee Report ALL APPROVED

<u>AHSS</u>

URST/POLS 4355/5355 Urban Planning and New Course

Land Use

DCISSE

ASCI 4340/5340 Mechatronics II New Course

ASCI 4335/5335 Mechatronics I Change course description and

prerequisites

Personnel Sub-Committee Report ALL APPROVED

Full Status

Amrhein, Laura PhD Assistant Professor (AHSS)

Duyar, Ibrahim PhD Assistant Professor, Ed. Leadership (COE)

Johnson, Judy PhD Associate Professor (COE)

Luba, James PhD Assistant Professor of Chemistry (Science and Math)

Roberson, Carey MFA Assistant Professor (AHSS)

Shaw, Sherry PhD Assistant Professor (COE)

Weems, Gail H. PhD Assistant Professor, Ed. Leadership (COE)

Adjunct Status

Gilleland, Diane PhD Visiting Associate Professor in Higher Education (COE)

Hanson, Anne EdD Retired School Administrator-LRSD (COE)
Hueston, Fred PhD CEO, Horizons Stewardship Co., LLC (CPS)

Otey, Bob PhD Assoc. Professor, Concordia University @ Austin (COE)

Pentecost, Cathryn PhD Alpha Facilitator for PCSSD (COE)

Rook, Steven J. EdD Dean of Student Services- Rich Mt. Comm. Col (COE)

Strause, Katherine MFA Artist in Residence (AHSS) Williams-Bryant, W. PhD Adjunct Professor (COE)

Special Status		
Altun, Ziya Gokalp	PhD	Assistant Professor, Cukurova University, Turkey (Cyber College
Dedman, Jacqualine	MSE	DSQIC Specialist (COE)
Deiser, Andrew J.	MA	Assistant Professor of Spanish (CAHSS)
Engelken, Robert	PhD	Professor of Electrical Engineering, Arkansas State
		University (Cyber College)
Klimberg, Suzanne	MD	Director, Division of Breast Surgical Oncology,
	D. D.	UAMS (Cyber College)
Lindquist, Diana	PhD	Professor of Radiology Education, UAMS (Cyber College)
Paczynski, Bohdan	PhD	Professor (Cyber College)
Repperger, Daniel W.	PhD	Electronics Engineer, AF Research Laboratory (Cyber College)
Schmidt, Glenda	MA	VP/CFÓ, Winrock Int'l Institute for Agricultural
Maskan Dill	MED	Development (CPS)
Waskom, Bill	MED	Administrator-Benton School District (COE)
Wheeler, Karen	PhD	Assistant Director-Legislative Act CoorInstitutional Finance (COE)
Whitlock, Sharon	MED	Graduate Asst Obtaining Doctorate Higher Ed. (COE)

Program Review Sub-Committee

The committee submitted report at the end of August to the Graduate School.

Other Business: A brief discussion took place regarding release time for faculty serving on committees. Plopper will check as to how other departments are handling this matter and will report back to the council.

Dean's Report: None

The next meeting is October 1, 2003 at 3:00 p.m. in the Donaghey Student Center, Meeting Room D.