University of Arkansas at Little Rock Graduate Council Minutes September 8, 2004

Members Present: R. Barreto, D. McAlpine, C. Nahrwold, E. Bashaw, Judyth Swingen, H. Al-Shukri, G. Anderson, S. Minsker, A. Hunt, A. Lindsay, M. James-Barnes, A. Bevernitz, D. Kelly, J. Wayne, B. Sikes, W. Williams, K. Forsyth, S. McKisick, R. Hegwood,

Members Absent: J. Bailey, I. Duyar, J.Darsey

Others Present: R. Hanson, K. Walker

The meeting was called to order at 3:06 p.m. by Hanson. Hanson presided over election of chair. Dr. Robert Sikes was elected by acclamation. Dr. Cynthia Nahrwold was elected vice chair.

Members formed sub-committees for curriculum, personnel, and program review. The committees are as follows:

CURRICULUM Anne Lindsay, Chair	PERSONNEL Reina Barreto, Chair	PROGRAM REVIEW Andrew Hunt, Chair
Haydar Al-Shukri	Gary Anderson	Janet Bailey
Ed Bashaw	Ibrahim Duyar	Andrea Bevernitz
Maureen James-Barnes	Ruth Hegwood	Steve Minsker
Donna Kelly	Serena McKisick-Hill	Cynthia Nahrwold
David McAlpine	John Wayne	Robert Sikes
	Wendi Williams	

Dean's Report:

- The Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) will review the Bioinformatics PhD program during the site visit scheduled for Monday, September 13, 2004.
- Graduate School student enrollment is at a record high.

The next meeting is September 22, 2004 at 3:00 p.m. in the Graduate School Conference Room.