Concentration Areas

The Interdisciplinary Studies major facilitates a well-rounded knowledge base with emphasis areas chosen from three different disciplines (typically l8 hours each). The concentration area requirements generally follow the courses required for the minor. Courses that are listed in two concentration areas will count in both.

Two disciplines must be selected from the options available in the College of Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences, and Education. The third area may come from any college at UA Little Rock.

If you have questions concerning concentration requirements, please contact a BAIS advisor or the chairperson of the Department of Philosophy & Interdisciplinary Studies (501-916-6309).

CHASSE options:

  • Anthropology
  • Applied Communication
  • Applied Design
  • Art (Studio)
  • Art History
  • Creative Writing
  • Dance
  • Digital Graphics
  • English (Literature)
  • Film Studies
  • French
  • Gender Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • International Studies
  • Journalism
  • Legal Studies
  • Linguistics
  • Mass Communication
  • Middle Eastern Studies
  • Music
  • Nonprofit Leadership
  • Philosophy
  • Philosophy / Religious Studies
  • Photography
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Race & Ethnicity Studies
  • Religious Studies
  • Sociology
  • Theatre Arts
  • Spanish
  • Writing (Professional/Technical)

Any currently-existing minor not listed above may be used as the third concentration area (provided that BAIS students are able to enroll the necessary classes). Options outside of CHASSE available for study include but are not limited to: Management, Health Sciences, Geology, Biology, Chemistry, and Criminal Justice.

Social Work, Nursing, and Education programs are not available as BAIS concentrations.