Washington D.C.-based university hails professor as ‘Visionary Leader’

Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C., has named Dr. Glenn Anderson, an associate professor at UALR, its February 2014 “Visionary Leader.”

Dr. Glenn Anderson, UALR associate professor Anderson was chosen as part of the university’s 150th anniversary celebration. Gallaudet was established by an Act of Congress in 1864 as the world’s only university with programs and services specifically designed to accommodate deaf and hard-of-hearing students.

Anderson will deliver a presentation titled, “Still I Rise! The Enduring Legacy of Black Deaf Arkansans Before and After Integration,” based on his book and DVD, Thursday, Feb. 13, at Gallaudet University.

Gallaudet officials have lauded Anderson’s many achievements, which include “inspiring and preparing undergraduate and graduate students for careers in diverse professional fields working with deaf people.”

In 1982, Anderson began a 26-year career as director of training in UALR’s Rehabilitation Research and Training Center. He was also a coordinator of the master’s degree program in rehabilitation counseling for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing.

Since 2008, he has taught in the Interpreter Education Program, part of the Department of Counseling, Rehabilitation, and Adult Education at UALR.

Anderson is the first African American alumnus of Gallaudet to earn a doctoral degree and the first African American deaf person to be appointed as chair of the Gallaudet Board of Trustees.

Anderson is among the 200 African Americans included in the four-volume book series published in 2012, “Voices of Historical and Contemporary Black American Pioneers.”

A few of his other notable awards include the Alice Cogswell Award for valuable service on behalf of deaf people by the Gallaudet University Alumni Association; the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Linwood Smith Humanitarian Award by the National Black Deaf Advocates; induction into the American Athletic Association of the Deaf Hall of Fame and the National Hall of Fame for Persons with Disabilities; and the Frederick C. Schreiber Leadership Award by the National Association of the Deaf.

Share this Post: