Winners of Art Competition announced, pieces on display

Artwork by students taking studio art and design classes in the UALR Department of Art is on display until April 19 in Gallery I of the Fine Arts Building.Art show

The students submitted their individual work for the Annual Student Competitive.

Pieces represent all studio disciplines being taught at UALR including drawing and design, painting, printmaking, graphic design and illustration, photography, textiles, metals and furniture design, sculpture, and ceramics.

Local artist and master Printmaker, Delita Martin, served as the juror for the competition. Martin received a bachelor of fine arts degree in drawing from Texas Southern University and a master’s degree in drawing and printmaking from Purdue University.

The winners were announced at a reception for the students on March 17.

Students competed for a variety of awards including the cash and prizes from local companies and scholarships.

Sydney Adams earned the Wilma And Jack Diner Scholarship Award of $1000 while Kenneth Guthrie landed the Alexa Mena, Student Competitive Cash Award in the amount of $300. Byron Buslig was awarded the Charles D. Massey Scholarship for $250.

The UALR Friends Of The Arts awards went to Robert Simons, Benjamin Deaton, Shawnett Thomas, and Spencer Zahrn.

See the full list of winners:

Local Business Awards
Rayna Mackey of Cantrell Gallery)
Carmen Bradford of Hearne Fine Art)
Wai K. Lo of Gallery 26

Art Supplies And Materials (courtesy of Art Outfitters)
Spencer Zahrn
Spencer Zahrn
Emily Shiell
Adam Eastham
Douglas Frank (Alman Co.)

Starving Artist Awards
Nathaniel Roe of Trio’s Restaurant)
Carly Fehlberg and Kenneth Guthrie of Boulevard Bread Co.
Savanah Johnson and Catherine Kim of The Root Café

Cash And Scholarships
Friends Of The Arts Purchase Awards
Robert Simons for “On Gaines” – $150
Benjamin Deaton for “Shoebox” – $350

Friends Of The Arts Diner Purchase Award
Shawnett Thomas for “Wrong Prince” – $125
Spencer Zahrn for “Coven (West)” – $850

Wilma And Jack Diner Scholarship Award
Sydney Adams – $1000

Alexa Mena, Student Competitive Cash Award
Kenneth Guthrie – $300

Charles D. Massey Scholarship
Byron Buslig – $250

Share this Post: