Trojans earn Missouri Valley academic honors

A University of Arkansas at Little Rock swimming and diving team member races in competition.

Strong work in the classroom led the University of Arkansas at Little Rock swimming and diving team to earn several academic awards by the Missouri Valley Conference.

Eight Trojans received the league’s Commissioner’s Academic Excellence Award, while 13 earned spots on the conference’s Honor Roll.

Samantha GrayMadison BrownTori FryarNuria Gallego MurciaKayla GrimmAnn KharlamovaKara Knapschaefer, and Laura Ruiz Astorga were recipients of the Commissioner’s Academic Excellence Award.

The award requires a minimum grade point average of 3.5 for the previous two semesters, a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA, and participation in athletics.

On the Valley Honor Roll was Samantha GrayMadison BrownChelsea EbertAnela EverettTori FryarNuria Gallego MurciaCourtney GoffKayla GrimmAnn KharlamovaKara KnapschaeferSteph LauerLaura Ruiz Astorga, and Imre van Huyssteen.

To qualify for the Valley Honor Roll, a student athlete must have a minimum 3.2 GPA for a specified term (fall 2015/spring 2016), be a member of an athletics team, and be enrolled for a minimum of 12 hours during the fall or spring semesters.

Little Rock will get the 2016-17 season underway at the North Texas Relays Friday, Sept. 30, in Lewisville, Texas.

Share this Post: