UA Little Rock to host convocations to welcome freshman, faculty, and staff

The 2016 Freshman Convocation welcomes the Class of 2020. Photo by Lonnie Timmons III/UALR Communications.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock will welcome students, faculty, and staff for the start of a new academic year Tuesday, Aug. 15. 

The Freshman Convocation, an annual tradition offered by UA Little Rock Student Affairs to mark the beginning of students’ academic journey, will be held at 11 a.m. in the University Theatre in the Center for Performing Arts.

Following the Freshman Convocation, all students, faculty, and staff are invited for lunch, a pep rally with UA Little Rock’s athletic teams, and an organizational fair at noon in the fitness center located in Donaghey Student Center. The UA Little Rock Bookstore will host a fashion show at 1 p.m.

During the Faculty and Staff Convocation beginning at 2 p.m. in University Theatre, Chancellor Andrew Rogerson will introduce new faculty members and talk about university initiatives.

Provost Velmer Burton, Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs Mark Allen Poisel, Faculty Senate President Andrew Wright, and Staff Senate President Richard Harper are also scheduled to speak.

In addition, six faculty members will give short TED Talks-style presentations on exciting research happening at the university:

·      Dr. Tito Viswanathan, professor of chemistry, will speak about water purification.

·      Dr. Moiz Bhal, assistant professor of economics, will discuss the outcomes of national teaching certifications.

·      Dr. Naveen Nagaraj, assistant professor of audiology and speech pathology, will talk about hearing, language, and cognitive science.

·      Dr. Nitin Agarwal, Jerry L. Maulden-Entergy endowed chair and professor of information science, will review his extensive work in social media research.

·      Dr. Rebecca Glazier, assistant professor of political science, will give a presentation about her research into religion and electoral politics.

·      Dr. Suzanne Penn, associate professor of clinical law, will discuss her work at the Delta Legal Clinic.

After the convocation, a Champagne reception will be held in the University Theatre foyer to honor Provost Burton, Vice Chancellor Poisel, and new faculty members.


Share this Post: