Little Rock to face Florida State in first round of NCAA tournament

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock women's basketball team and fans react to the news that No. 14 seed Little Rock will play No. 3 seed Florida State in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday at 10 a.m. (CT) in Tallahassee.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock women’s basketball team earned a No. 14 seed in the 2018 NCAA Tournament and will face No. 3 seed Florida State in the first round of the tournament at 10 a.m. (CT) Saturday, March 17, in Tallahassee, Florida. The matchup will air on ESPN2. 

Tickets for Little Rock’s game against Florida State are on sale now via the Florida State Ticket Office. Single-session tickets are available for $20, and all-session tickets are available for $30. To purchase, call 888-FSU-NOLE or click here.

If you are not able to make it to Tallahassee, there will be a watch party in the Legends Room at the Jack Stephens Center on Saturday morning. Doors will open at 9:30 a.m. For more information, contact Ryan Miller at 501-569-3411 or

If Little Rock advances to the second round of the tournament, the Trojans will play the winner of the game with No. 6 University of South Florida and No. 11 Buffalo on Monday.

This will be Little Rock’s fifth trip to the NCAA Tournament. Little Rock has posted two NCAA Tournament victories over the years with the last coming as the No. 11 seed against No. 6 seed Texas A&M in 2015 when it knocked off the Aggies 69-60. Little Rock then fell 57-54 to No. 3 seed Arizona State in the second round.

Prior to that, Little Rock’s first NCAA Tournament victory came in 2010 when the team was an at-large bid to the tournament. As a No. 11 seed that season, the Trojans defeated No. 6 seed Georgia Tech in the first round before losing to No. 3 seed Oklahoma in the second round on the Sooners’ home court.

Little Rock earned its automatic bid to this year’s NCAA Tournament when it claimed the Sun Belt Tournament Championship on March 10. The Trojans survived a strong second-half surge by Texas State to win its fourth league tournament with a final score of 54-53. Ronjanae DeGray and Monique Townson earned All-Tournament Team honors for their performance throughout the tournament.



Share this Post: