UA Little Rock voice students take first prize during singing conference

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Two University of Arkansas at Little Rock students won first place in their respective categories during the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) 2018 spring conference.

Daniel Morris and Kyra Hatley were two of six voice students sent to the NATS conference Feb. 23-24, by the UA Little Rock Department of Music. There, the students gained performance recognition, received adjudicators’ feedback, and competed for cash prizes. Other participants included Kenshayla Robinson, Janette Robinson, Hannah Blacklaw, and Nicole Brown.

After advancing to the semifinal rounds with scores of 90 or higher, Morris and Hatley were selected to compete in the final round of their categories. Morris was awarded first place in the younger advanced men division, and Hatley received first place in the sophomore women division.

The students were judged on tone, breathing, diction, accuracy in rhythm and pitch, artistry, expression and synchronization with the pianist.

Emery Stephens, visiting assistant professor of voice, and Diane Kesling, instructor of voice, served as the advising faculty members for the students, while Leann Hatley, staff accompanist, also accompanied the winning students on piano.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar