UA Little Rock to host first Arkansas Country Music Awards

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock will host the inaugural Arkansas Country Music Awards, a red-carpet event honoring the rich music scene of the Natural State, on Monday, June 4. 

The awards ceremony will begin at 6:30 p.m. in the University Theatre in the Center for Performing Arts.

Country music artists and Arkansas natives Johnny Cash, Glen Campbell, The Browns, Ed Bruce, and Wayne Raney have been announced as the first recipients of the Arkansas Country Music Awards Lifetime Achievement Awards and will be honored at the event.

The awards ceremony will be hosted by Collin Raye, a DeQueen native with 24 Top 10 hits and 16 No. 1 singles, and Charles Haymes, a Beebe native, newspaper columnist, and country music historian.

“The need for this is way overdue,” said Haymes. “So many independent and undiscovered talents grace stages all over Arkansas every weekend, chasing a dream and doing what they love. With many categories that cover the various styles that fall under the country music umbrella, this is going to be a great event and the beginning of something special.”

Additionally, 2014 Miss Arkansas Ashton Gill will host the red carpet event through interviews and commentary, as well as speaking with recipients as they come off stage.

Members of the public can vote online for the winners of additional categories until Saturday, April 7.  The categories include: Entertainer, Country Artist, Americana/Roots Artist, Bluegrass Artist, Inspirational Artist, Female Vocalist, Male Vocalist, Acoustic Act, Vocal Group, Album, Song, Songwriter, Producer, Engineer, Promoter, Video, Radio Station, Radio DJ, Magazine, Venue, Young Artist (age 17 or younger), Bassist, Fiddle Player, Drummer, Guitarist, and Steel Player.

Tickets range from $35 to $100 and can be purchased online.

Share this Post: