UA Little Rock to honor CTEH’s Cory Davis with Fribourgh Award

Cory Davis/Photo by Ben Krain

William “Cory” Davis, senior vice president of operations and principal consultant at the Center for Toxicology and Environmental Health in North Little Rock, has been selected as the recipient of the ninth annual Fribourgh Award from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. 

“It’s a great honor to be recognized by my alma mater in this way,” Davis said. “This award not only acknowledges the recipient, it gives other UA Little Rock students the opportunity to pursue careers in math and science and give back to our state in the future.”

The Fribourgh Award honors individuals who have made considerable contributions to the state of Arkansas through mathematics and science. This year’s reception will be held on Thursday, Sept. 20, from 6-8 p.m. at the Chenal Country Club in Little Rock. Proceeds will be used to create an endowed scholarship in the Davis Family name to help UA Little Rock attract and retain high-achieving, full-time students majoring in math and science.

“We appreciate this opportunity to recognize Cory Davis for his noteworthy work in our state’s scientific community,” said Thomas Clifton, interim dean of the UA Little Rock College of Arts, Letters and Sciences. “He’s an excellent example of how impactful UA Little Rock alumni can be, not just to one individual but to the entire populace.”

After graduating from UA Little Rock with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health Science and industrial psychology minor in 2000, Davis met Drs. Jay Gandy, Phil Goad, Glenn Millner and Alan Nye of the Center for Toxicology and Environmental Health (CTEH), a management, technology and science-based consulting firm, and was hired as an industrial hygienist.

For nine years, he then served as manager of the company’s Toxicology Emergency Response Program (TERP), which is responsible for providing high-level scientific consulting for situations involving the catastrophic release of hazardous materials. Today, he is senior vice president of operations and principal consultant—handling large-scale emergency response, industrial hygiene, environmental consulting and emergency preparedness projects. He is widely known as one of the best advisors in the North American emergency response industry.

Cory Davis/Photo by Ben Krain
Cory Davis/Photo by Ben Krain

Under Davis’ leadership, CTEH has grown to more than 150 employees and nine offices across the U.S. He is thankful to his mentors and colleagues who are dedicated to helping his fellow Arkansans and others in need around the globe.

“I’ve been proud to work with my colleagues at CTEH to build a first-class team of environmental, health, safety and management professionals who are willing and able to provide the science and intelligence our partners need during times of crisis,” Davis said. “Every day, we’re developing new solutions—from cutting-edge technology to hands-on training programs—to help protect people, their communities and the environment.”

The Fribourgh Award Reception began in 2010 to honor the late Dr. James H. Fribourgh, UA Little Rock professor emeritus, who served for more than 45 years as chair of Life Sciences, interim chancellor, vice chancellor for academic affairs and distinguished professor of biology.

Past recipients include Jerry B. Adams, president and CEO of Arkansas Research Alliance; H. Watt Gregory III, partner at Kutak Rock LLP; Dr. Charles E. Hathaway, UA Little Rock chancellor emeritus and Donaghey distinguished professor; Peter Banko, president and CEO of St. Vincent Health System; Dr. James Hendren, former CEO and chairman of Arkansas Systems Inc., Dr. Mary Good, founding dean of the UA Little Rock College of Engineering and Information Technology; and Jerry and Sherri Damerow.

Tickets for this year’s reception are on sale for $75 per person, $50 is tax deductible, at For sponsorship information, please contact Derek Boyce at or 501-683-7355.

Share this Post:
Skip to toolbar