UA Little Rock dean selected as new executive vice chancellor and provost 

Dr. Ann Bain. Photo by Ben Krain.

In her first appointment as chancellor of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Dr. Christina Drale has selected Dr. Ann Bain as executive vice chancellor and provost. The appointment is effective Oct. 16.

Bain, who joined the university 32 years ago, most recently served as dean of the College of Education and Health Professions. She replaces Dr. Drale, who was interim executive vice chancellor and provost before being appointed chancellor in September by University of Arkansas System President Dr. Donald Bobbitt.

As provost, Bain is the senior academic administrator who oversees curricular, instructional, and research affairs.

“I’m honored to have been selected for this position and look forward to working with our new leader, Chancellor Drale, the leadership teams, our faculty, staff, and students,” said Bain. “I recognize that I am accepting this position at a challenging time in the history of this university, but with challenging times comes great opportunity.”

In her new role, she will focus on strengthening the university’s connection to the Little Rock community and expanding community engagement and collaboration; expanding student support to enable greater student success; and helping to reshape the university to meet the needs of Little Rock and Arkansas. 

“Dr. Bain has a proven track record as an educational leader at UA Little Rock,” Drale said. “She has demonstrated her ability to successfully manage a variety of units with an eye towards growth and efficiency. She has built effective student support systems in her college and has cultivated productive relationships with key community partners. Dr. Bain has also played an important role in our institutional efforts towards continuous improvement. She is highly qualified for this position, and I have every confidence that she will continue her excellent work as provost.”

Bain currently serves as co-chair of the Institutional Effectiveness Committee and a member of the Higher Learning Commission Steering Committee overseeing university accreditation—two critical committees for moving the university forward.

A 1972 graduate of Mount St. Mary Academy in Little Rock, Bain earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in nursing from the University of Central Arkansas and began her career in nursing at several hospitals in Little Rock.

She joined UA Little Rock in 1987 as an assistant professor of nursing and received a doctorate in higher education administration from the university in 1998. Bain served as chair of the Department of Nursing for 16 years, until she was named interim dean of the College of Sciences in 2013.

Over her tenure, Bain grew the nursing department from an associate degree program with about 100 students to a program with five degree programs enrolling about 900 students—the largest academic program at the university. Her work with the UA Little Rock Office of Development to secure external support and grant funding has provided innovative technology and resources for the Nursing Department. She also helped establish partnerships with CHI St. Vincent Health System and Saline Memorial Hospital. 

In 2014, Bain became the first dean of UA Little Rock’s newly formed College of Education and Health Professions. During her tenure, she established the college’s Advising and Support Center; implemented 2-plus-2 articulation agreements with Arkansas community colleges in middle childhood education, elementary education, and social work program; and established a partnership with Easterseals Arkansas to enable adults with disabilities to have a college and work experience through UA Little Rock.

Bain is active in several community and professional service organizations. She currently serves on the nomination committee for the Accrediting Commission for Education in Nursing and has previously served as secretary and vice chairperson.

Share this Post: